No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I simmered the granny smith apples for about 5 minutes & used Langer's frozen apple juice (11.5 oz.) which was labeled as having no added sugar. I made my own thin graham cracker crust, omitted the top crust, & topped the pie with chopped walnuts, as one reviewer suggested. The pie didn't have any artificial sugar aftertaste as the sweetener is apple juice. I wasn't sure about adding 3 Tbsp of cornstarch as I'd seen recipes with less but the consistency was fine. I made this for Father's Day for my diabetic dad and everyone loved it. My sister pronounced it "perfect" & asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2000
I served this to my family for Thanksgiving, including my father who is diabetic, and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
Excellent recipe! You can actually taste the apples instead of the sugar. Use Granny Smith or Macintosh apples for tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I have made this recipe since Thanksgiving 4 times. I did not use a top crust *saves time* and on some I added chopped walnuts on top. Pecans would probably make an excellent topper but boy! they are expensive. The amount of apples are not critical I use about 10-12 Granny Smith apples and make two at a time. My DH can not eat sugar and likes more Splenda in his. My daughter who can eat sugar loves this pie. I feel good about this desert being it is made with so many fresh apples. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEVADA753

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I think this pie is perfect. My girls made it for my dad who is diabetic. He loves it. Now we make two for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
A wonderful "no sugar added" recipe. I've made this many times and it's always a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is my favorite apple pie. It allows the apples true flavor to shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
My family loved it. I used a combination of granny smith and pink lady apples. I intend to use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is my apple pie from now on. With "Best Ever Pie Crust", it's a hard combination to beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I just made this and have to say--this apple pie is genius! Seriously, it is unbelievably good. I used a homemade pie crust (but just one--I made a crust by sprinkling pecans on the top), used 5 Granny Smith apples (which I let simmer on the stove for about 20-30 minutes), and 2 tbsps of cinnamon instead of 1. This is one of the best apple pies I have ever had! You don't miss the sugar at all--it tastes perfectly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States