No Sugar Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I have made this recipe many times. My husband doesn't eat desserts with added sugar - the natural sugars in fruit seem to be OK for him, however. I have also made this pie with peaches instead of apples, and I used mixed berry juice concentrate in place of the apple juice concentrate. It turned out delicious. I am going to try it with strawberries - we have a ton of strawberries in the freezer - using the mixed berry juice concentrate. I think the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I am pre-diabetic and am trying to stay away from sugar, but love love love sweets! This pie was just the thing I needed to satisfy my sweet tooth, but not off my blood sugar. Definitely a favorite for the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
HAPPY PI DAY! I'm so glad I found this recipe. I was making an apple pie already when I was reminded that my dad's diet didn't allow him to have sugar. I looked up sugar free apple pie recipes and I saw this one. It sounded good so I decided to try it! I'm very happy to say that it turned out really well despite me never having made apple pie before. ^_^ Dad ate two slices and said it was really good! Also said it was worth making again after he finished this one, hahaha! I might try using more cornstarch next time though, he didn't think the gooey part was sticky enough. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Krieter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I only make this apple pie recipe any more...everyone loves it and my diabetic friends are especially happy...good to the last crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Fantastic! I am and have been on a no sugar added diet for a few years now and have not felt better. One thing I have missed is a good quality pie without the added sugar. When I made this I was out of this world. A+ by everyone who tried it. I did make a few modifications: Because this diet does not allow fruit 'concentrates' (the theory is that the fiber slows down the abortion of the sugar into the bloodstream so you can process it normally), I had to find something else. Unsweetened Apple Sauce was what I used, though it is not as sweet. To sweeten I used about 10 chopped dates with pits removed and mixed it in with applesauce/cornstarch/cinnamon. When I put the crust on top I did not cut any holes so that the sweetness would absorb into the pie from the dates better. I used both green and red apples too. It turned out FANTASTIC! Best apple pie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Beggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
We made this for my Dad that is Diabetic… everyone at the table loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I loved it. Ingredients were very simple. Followed the directions exactly but with one exeption. I used 3 granny smith, 2 gala, and 1 fuji, apples. Apple concentrate give it all the sweetness needed and yet still had just a little tart to it. This is going to be my first choice in apple pie and im not diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassy MacDonald
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Turned out kinda mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassy MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Just made this pie today; I used Granny Smith apples and like the others said, I too was skeptical at first that the apple juice concentrate would be overpowered by the tartness of the apples, so I was pleasantly surprised the pie came out as well as it did! With my no-fail crust recipe, the pie was a hit, even for my picky husband! Will make this my go-to apple pie recipe as of today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States