No-Sugar-Added Blueberry and Banana Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
No sugar?! You guys, a MUST TRY recipe... But do make sure your bananas are really ripe. Very moist and good! Didn't miss the sugar at all. We all need more recipes like these. Speck, you're awesome! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Not much flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
After reading other reviews I made the following changes. I substituted orange juice for the water and applesauce for the oil. Increased the bananas and fresh blueberries to 1 1/2 cups each, making sure both were very ripe. Added cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. I also made it in a loaf pan and baked for 40 min. Just goes to show that not only can we bake with less sugar, but no sugar works too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I was not impresed with these at all. I used strawberry jam instead of a cup of banana (which didn't add anything to the flavor, just for the moisture) and Gluten free flour. For the second batch I added a few tablespoons of white sugar and that helped a lot. It might just be my flour that made it taste off. Usually I will substitute 1 for 1 and it tastes delicious. But this isn't a recipe I will try again. Oh, the first ones without sugar I drizzled honey on top, I wish I had added it into the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Used this recipe as a base for strawberry and apple muffins. I used 1 cup chunky unsweetened apple sauce and 1 & 1/2 cup not quite puréed strawberries. I also used fruit juice instead of water, to sweeten a little. I agree with others, it needs salt and spices. I used cinnamon in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
With a few alterations this was pretty damned good. Use really ripe bananas and increase to 1 1/4 cups mashed banana. Increase blueberries to 1 1/2 cups and always use fresh. Replace 1/2 cup flour with flax meal and half of the oil with unsweetened applesauce (keep some of the oil because fat helps control blood sugar spikes in reaction to the sugars in food). Adding spices like nutmeg, cinnamon, mace, allspice, ginger and clove are a really good idea to give it more flavor. You can also oompf up the health factor by including fiber and vanilla protein powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serenadelorenzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
these are very good for no sugar muffins. I wish I could find more recipes like this that don't just replace sugar with artificial sweeteners. My kids are not crazy about these but I am trying to wean them off the super sugary muffin mixes from a box. I added 2 tablespoons of honey and used the apple juice leftover from making applesauce for the water. Also my flour was white wheat mixture (1/2 & 1/2). Thank you for posting this. Post more like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These muffins for me... need a little something else. I used frozen banana and blueberries, so I don't know if that was the difference or not but I miss either sugar or a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made mine with half whole wheat flour, four small bananas and a pint of blueberries. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I used applesauce instead of oil like another reviewer suggested. The result looked like the pictures. It worked, but it is what it is, a sugarless muffin. Unlike the other reviewers I felt this could be tastier, but plan to eat with pb for extra taste. Its great to have such a healthy baked option. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States