No-Sugar-Added Blueberry and Banana Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I don't think this recipe has enough flour in it. It fell flat and tasteless, while I'm all for no sugar I think another overripe banana, some honey and another cup of flour would do the trick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridie Amelia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Made as recipe stated...These were not bad, but definitely bake for 20-25 minutes instead of the 15 that is says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Great recipe without the refined sugar! I made some changes due to reviews saying the flavor was bland.... added a small amount of vanilla, a little cinnamon, a little bit of brown sugar (maybe 1/8 cup IF THAT), a squirt of honey, some white and chocolate chips, used 1 cup white flour, 1 cup wheat, used 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup applesauce. Also added in some flaxseed. Moist and delicious!! Had to bake an additional 3 minutes to full cook. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I made a few changes after reading reviews and these were outstanding NO SUGAR needed. Used 2 well mashed bananas,instead of 1/2 cup oil used 1/4 cup canola oil and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce,used 2TBSP of local honey,used 1 cup of whole wheat white flour and 1 cup reg flour , 1/2 tsp. apple pie spice and 1 1/2 cups of fresh blueberries. Fabulous!!! Also i made them as 48 mini muffins (plan to freeze them) which took 10 min to bake at 350! I will be making these often for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I added plain yogurt, vanilla, a dash of honey, and nutmeg. I used coconut oil in place of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Love the texture of these muffins…and didn't really miss the sugar. I did add some vanilla but otherwise followed the recipe with no changes… I would make these again with other combinations of fruit like raspberries and mini chocolate chips added to the ripe banana. Great with tea or coffee too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I love this recipe!! I add raspberries instead of blueberries, they seem to give it extra flavour and I add some chocolate chips, because I love chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Excellent, one of the moist muffins I have ever made! I couldn't resist without the sugar so I added just about 1/4 cup of Splenda. And I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup regular flour. I also used a spatula for mixing. I believe this helped it from over mixing (which I usually end up doing LOL). Wonderful, will make these once again without an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
No sugar?! You guys, a MUST TRY recipe... But do make sure your bananas are really ripe. Very moist and good! Didn't miss the sugar at all. We all need more recipes like these. Speck, you're awesome! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Not much flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States