No-Sugar-Added Blueberry and Banana Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I made two slight changes but they were so miniscule that it's really not a huge deal. Instead of plain water, I soaked two Celestial Seasonings honey vanilla white tea chai bags in the half cup of water I heated for about five minutes and used that to add a little oomph. I also added two tbsp. of honey. Those were the two things I noticed that people said that these muffins needed, a little spice and perhaps a little honey. The smell of these while baking was amazing and they look super fluffy and just beautiful. Mine did need just a few more minutes to bake. Half of this recipe will be for my two kids and husband and the other half will be gifted to a friend tonight. I'll update my review once I found out how everyone liked them. EDITED: They were a hit. The kids inhaled them and couldn't really tell they were sans sugar. This will be my new blueberry muffin recipe. Thank you SO much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I'll admit, I was a bit wary of making these because of all the reviews saying that their was no flavor. Based on my (small) changes, I rate it five stars. I think the flavor is great, I really don't miss the sugar at all, and the texture is really good too. I used apple sauce instead of the oil, subbed 1/4 cup of the flour for flaxseed meal, and added half a teaspoon of vanilla. I also halfed the recipe, so the measurements are based on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaness1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I was expecting no taste and was pleasantly surprised. For a no-sugar recipe, I think these came out amazing. The key to the flavor is ripe bananas and delicious fresh blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Curiosity! I just had to try this one out for curiosity’s sake and let me tell you, whole wheat and no sugar was a bit of a culture shock for me. I made sure to use overripe bananas and ripe blueberries to give it some sweetness. They were really moist and better on the second day. However, I just couldn't overcome the blandness. I even added extra blueberries, cinnamon, and nutmeg and still nothing. Next time I will try with a little honey. This recipe will really make you stop and think about how dependent we are on sweeteners in one form or another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
My husband is a diabetic so I'm always looking for no sugar muffins. These are pretty darn good. I had some really juicy, sweet blueberries which I think really help. I did use a bit less soda, and baking powder. I also added about a teaspoon of my homemade pumpkin pie spice. Without this added spice it's probably boring. The batter was really thick so next time I think I'll give it just a small amount of liquid sweetener. I only got 12 regular size muffins & needed 2 more minutes in the oven. Next time I'll add some walnuts for even more nutrition. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Remarkably good. I did add some (1/4 c) soy protein powder & fiber to bump it up for my weight loss program. Also didn't have any blueberries, but added the equiv. in cherries (20). Still a great combo and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great recipe! Since there is no added sugar, you would think that the muffins wouldn't be very sweet. But, they are very tasty and healthy! My children wanted to eat 3 of them for breakfast! I frequently make banana bread and muffins...this recipe is much healthier and you don't miss the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Unfortunately, I did not have enough ingredients so I changed the recipe a little. I used 1/2 cup banana, 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce, and 1/4 cup grapeseed oil for the banana part of the recipe. I substituted 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce for the oil. I will try using 1 1/4 cup wild blueberries next time. They are very good warm. The consistence was good. I made 12 and baked them for 28 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEALTHYMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Wow, Speck, these are awesome. You can sort of notice there's no sugar but it doesn't pose a problem at all. To be honest, I think they are much better than some of the sugary muffins we're used to baking. The baking time was right on the mark and the final product was oh so fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
LOVE THESE. They definitely made 12 largish muffins that needed a bit more time in the oven, but they were really delicious. I added a shot of vanilla & some grated carrot but I think even without those add-ons it would have been great. They're not really sweet but very tasty topped with butter. My diabetic grandmother is going to love these:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States