No-Sugar-Added Blueberry and Banana Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Unfortunately, I did not have enough ingredients so I changed the recipe a little. I used 1/2 cup banana, 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce, and 1/4 cup grapeseed oil for the banana part of the recipe. I substituted 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce for the oil. I will try using 1 1/4 cup wild blueberries next time. They are very good warm. The consistence was good. I made 12 and baked them for 28 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEALTHYMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
These muffins rose nicely, had a very good appearance, were moist inside and browned just right on the outside, but had no taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I was expecting no taste and was pleasantly surprised. For a no-sugar recipe, I think these came out amazing. The key to the flavor is ripe bananas and delicious fresh blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Remarkably good. I did add some (1/4 c) soy protein powder & fiber to bump it up for my weight loss program. Also didn't have any blueberries, but added the equiv. in cherries (20). Still a great combo and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I really liked this recipe. Only a tad on the bland side but was very good for a 'healthier' muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrapeJuice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Great appearance and consistency. Taste was decent (not bland), but I found the taste way too heavy of baking powder. Also, not sure why, but my batter was so think before adding the blueberries, that I had to add at least an additional half cup of water to even be able to fold in the blueberries. Next time I would like to try it with a little cinnamon & nutmeg. Made 24 mini muffins and 8 regular sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I substituted apple sauce for the vegetable oil. They came out really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I made these for my daughter & myself since we're on the 'elimination allergy diet'. I subsituted the wheat flour w/gluten free flour. They turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Great standard no sugar added recipe. though I did follow one reviewer's idea and added 2 scoops of a vanilla protein powder which had a little fructose in it. I used very ripe bananas and frozen blueberries but came out great for a healthy/satisfying breakfast. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
These were pretty good; i added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice to give a little more flavor. i made them into mini muffins and baked at 350 for 14 minutes. i also only added 2 tsp baking powder and it was plenty. next time i will add a little sugar though, i do need a little sweetness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefanie

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States