No-Sugar-Added Blueberry and Banana Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
LOVE THESE. They definitely made 12 largish muffins that needed a bit more time in the oven, but they were really delicious. I added a shot of vanilla & some grated carrot but I think even without those add-ons it would have been great. They're not really sweet but very tasty topped with butter. My diabetic grandmother is going to love these:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These are very good, and done exactly as the recipe says, they taste like what they are: healthy, whole wheat, blueberry-banana muffins. They are not sweet, and I might not give them as a gift unless I knew the recipient would appreciate the healthy, whole-wheat taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I loved these muffins. I did not have enough wheat flour (only 1 cup) so I added oatmeal to make up the difference. I am sure they were not as light but I liked the extra texture. Will try with 2 cups wheat flour & also would try adding 1 tsp of vanilla extract & a tablespoon of honey. I am diabetic so this will be a welcome change for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These were surprisingly good! I did change a few things based on the other reviews. I wanted something nonfat, so I subbed my homemade no sugar added cinnamon applesauce for the oil. I used 1 c whole wheat flour and 1 c all purpose flour. To add some spice, I simmered the water with 1 t. cinnamon, 1/2 t each nutmeg and ground cloves for several minutes. Finally I added just 2 Tbs honey. They rose really welll, and were done perfectly! My 2 year old loved them! I did 1 and 1/2 the recipe and got a full 2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
added 1 Tblsp. Stevia, 1 tsp. Vanilla, 1 cup walnuts. Yummy, and easy on the Diabetes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Initial shock over the lack of sweetness didn't last long. I really appreciate the actual flavour of the muffin. I did add 2 tbsp honey as per other reviewers but am not really sure if it makes that much of a difference. An excellent healthy muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Great recipe I made a couple of changes. Instead of blueberries I added one cup of mixed berries. Blackberry, blueberry and raspberry. Gave a sweeter muffine. I also replaced 1/2 flax seed meal. Turned our great have made this over and over. They don't last long with my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne Kluzit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I followed this exactly except for adding just a bit more blueberries. These were wonderful! Since I don't like sweet muffins these were perfect. They taste very healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
If you are used to sugar then you can tell that there is none in this recipe. That said, they taste ok and 2 of 3 kids in my house give it 5 stars. I cut the flour to 1 1/2 cups, adding 1/4 cup flax and 1/4 cup wheat germ. I also added 1 cup of chopped walnuts. Next time I will add some vanilla per the recommendation of some other reviewers, and an additional 1/2 cup of crushed blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States