No-Sugar-Added Blueberry and Banana Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
these are very good for no sugar muffins. I wish I could find more recipes like this that don't just replace sugar with artificial sweeteners. My kids are not crazy about these but I am trying to wean them off the super sugary muffin mixes from a box. I added 2 tablespoons of honey and used the apple juice leftover from making applesauce for the water. Also my flour was white wheat mixture (1/2 & 1/2). Thank you for posting this. Post more like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These muffins for me... need a little something else. I used frozen banana and blueberries, so I don't know if that was the difference or not but I miss either sugar or a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made mine with half whole wheat flour, four small bananas and a pint of blueberries. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I used applesauce instead of oil like another reviewer suggested. The result looked like the pictures. It worked, but it is what it is, a sugarless muffin. Unlike the other reviewers I felt this could be tastier, but plan to eat with pb for extra taste. Its great to have such a healthy baked option. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These were pretty good. My banana probably wasn't ripe enough and I added 1/2 c applesauce to make up for only one banana- so that could have been the problem. But, even after adding some almond extract, 1 T honey, and a packet of Stevia I thought these were pretty bland. I think it's a good base recipe, but I'm going to have to play around with it to see what it's missing. I'm hypoglycemic, so I'm used to cooking without sugar and I don't think that's the missing element.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
LOVE THESE. They definitely made 12 largish muffins that needed a bit more time in the oven, but they were really delicious. I added a shot of vanilla & some grated carrot but I think even without those add-ons it would have been great. They're not really sweet but very tasty topped with butter. My diabetic grandmother is going to love these:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These are very good, and done exactly as the recipe says, they taste like what they are: healthy, whole wheat, blueberry-banana muffins. They are not sweet, and I might not give them as a gift unless I knew the recipient would appreciate the healthy, whole-wheat taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I loved these muffins. I did not have enough wheat flour (only 1 cup) so I added oatmeal to make up the difference. I am sure they were not as light but I liked the extra texture. Will try with 2 cups wheat flour & also would try adding 1 tsp of vanilla extract & a tablespoon of honey. I am diabetic so this will be a welcome change for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These were surprisingly good! I did change a few things based on the other reviews. I wanted something nonfat, so I subbed my homemade no sugar added cinnamon applesauce for the oil. I used 1 c whole wheat flour and 1 c all purpose flour. To add some spice, I simmered the water with 1 t. cinnamon, 1/2 t each nutmeg and ground cloves for several minutes. Finally I added just 2 Tbs honey. They rose really welll, and were done perfectly! My 2 year old loved them! I did 1 and 1/2 the recipe and got a full 2 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States