No-Sugar-Added Blueberry and Banana Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I was not impresed with these at all. I used strawberry jam instead of a cup of banana (which didn't add anything to the flavor, just for the moisture) and Gluten free flour. For the second batch I added a few tablespoons of white sugar and that helped a lot. It might just be my flour that made it taste off. Usually I will substitute 1 for 1 and it tastes delicious. But this isn't a recipe I will try again. Oh, the first ones without sugar I drizzled honey on top, I wish I had added it into the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Used this recipe as a base for strawberry and apple muffins. I used 1 cup chunky unsweetened apple sauce and 1 & 1/2 cup not quite puréed strawberries. I also used fruit juice instead of water, to sweeten a little. I agree with others, it needs salt and spices. I used cinnamon in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
With a few alterations this was pretty damned good. Use really ripe bananas and increase to 1 1/4 cups mashed banana. Increase blueberries to 1 1/2 cups and always use fresh. Replace 1/2 cup flour with flax meal and half of the oil with unsweetened applesauce (keep some of the oil because fat helps control blood sugar spikes in reaction to the sugars in food). Adding spices like nutmeg, cinnamon, mace, allspice, ginger and clove are a really good idea to give it more flavor. You can also oompf up the health factor by including fiber and vanilla protein powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerenaBloom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
these are very good for no sugar muffins. I wish I could find more recipes like this that don't just replace sugar with artificial sweeteners. My kids are not crazy about these but I am trying to wean them off the super sugary muffin mixes from a box. I added 2 tablespoons of honey and used the apple juice leftover from making applesauce for the water. Also my flour was white wheat mixture (1/2 & 1/2). Thank you for posting this. Post more like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
These muffins for me... need a little something else. I used frozen banana and blueberries, so I don't know if that was the difference or not but I miss either sugar or a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I made mine with half whole wheat flour, four small bananas and a pint of blueberries. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I used applesauce instead of oil like another reviewer suggested. The result looked like the pictures. It worked, but it is what it is, a sugarless muffin. Unlike the other reviewers I felt this could be tastier, but plan to eat with pb for extra taste. Its great to have such a healthy baked option. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These were pretty good. My banana probably wasn't ripe enough and I added 1/2 c applesauce to make up for only one banana- so that could have been the problem. But, even after adding some almond extract, 1 T honey, and a packet of Stevia I thought these were pretty bland. I think it's a good base recipe, but I'm going to have to play around with it to see what it's missing. I'm hypoglycemic, so I'm used to cooking without sugar and I don't think that's the missing element.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
LOVE THESE. They definitely made 12 largish muffins that needed a bit more time in the oven, but they were really delicious. I added a shot of vanilla & some grated carrot but I think even without those add-ons it would have been great. They're not really sweet but very tasty topped with butter. My diabetic grandmother is going to love these:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These are very good, and done exactly as the recipe says, they taste like what they are: healthy, whole wheat, blueberry-banana muffins. They are not sweet, and I might not give them as a gift unless I knew the recipient would appreciate the healthy, whole-wheat taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States