No-Sugar-Added Blueberry and Banana Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I made a few changes after reading reviews and these were outstanding NO SUGAR needed. Used 2 well mashed bananas,instead of 1/2 cup oil used 1/4 cup canola oil and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce,used 2TBSP of local honey,used 1 cup of whole wheat white flour and 1 cup reg flour , 1/2 tsp. apple pie spice and 1 1/2 cups of fresh blueberries. Fabulous!!! Also i made them as 48 mini muffins (plan to freeze them) which took 10 min to bake at 350! I will be making these often for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I added plain yogurt, vanilla, a dash of honey, and nutmeg. I used coconut oil in place of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Love the texture of these muffins…and didn't really miss the sugar. I did add some vanilla but otherwise followed the recipe with no changes… I would make these again with other combinations of fruit like raspberries and mini chocolate chips added to the ripe banana. Great with tea or coffee too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I love this recipe!! I add raspberries instead of blueberries, they seem to give it extra flavour and I add some chocolate chips, because I love chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Excellent, one of the moist muffins I have ever made! I couldn't resist without the sugar so I added just about 1/4 cup of Splenda. And I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup regular flour. I also used a spatula for mixing. I believe this helped it from over mixing (which I usually end up doing LOL). Wonderful, will make these once again without an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
No sugar?! You guys, a MUST TRY recipe... But do make sure your bananas are really ripe. Very moist and good! Didn't miss the sugar at all. We all need more recipes like these. Speck, you're awesome! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Not much flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
After reading other reviews I made the following changes. I substituted orange juice for the water and applesauce for the oil. Increased the bananas and fresh blueberries to 1 1/2 cups each, making sure both were very ripe. Added cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. I also made it in a loaf pan and baked for 40 min. Just goes to show that not only can we bake with less sugar, but no sugar works too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I was not impresed with these at all. I used strawberry jam instead of a cup of banana (which didn't add anything to the flavor, just for the moisture) and Gluten free flour. For the second batch I added a few tablespoons of white sugar and that helped a lot. It might just be my flour that made it taste off. Usually I will substitute 1 for 1 and it tastes delicious. But this isn't a recipe I will try again. Oh, the first ones without sugar I drizzled honey on top, I wish I had added it into the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Used this recipe as a base for strawberry and apple muffins. I used 1 cup chunky unsweetened apple sauce and 1 & 1/2 cup not quite puréed strawberries. I also used fruit juice instead of water, to sweeten a little. I agree with others, it needs salt and spices. I used cinnamon in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States