No Sour Cream Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I wanted to try this because I can't have sour cream but love beef stroganoff. I don't keep white wine on hand so I used half a cup of beef broth instead. I also used a whole can of beef broth to add in instead of the half can called for, and garlic salt rather than garlic cloves. Once everything was cooked and mixed together I wasn't so sure about it. It looked too much like hamburger helper, and while I have nothing against HH, if I'm cooking it's because I want something other than HH for once :P It also lacked in colour so I added a big handful of dried parsley flakes. However, it did taste better than expected, mostly due to the Worcestershire sauce. I added in a very liberal "dash", stirred it in and let it cook for a few minutes, then added in an equally liberal second dash. It was decent, I will at least eat the leftovers. However, if I make it again I'll probably use beef strips and fresh mushrooms, and maybe experiment with a few additional seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Very easy!!! Used ground sausage instead (didn't have beef). Turned out FAB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
The flavor was ok but way too much flour that made it gooey and the meat was too tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
It turned out great!! I was looking for a quick recipe to whip up before I head to work and this was perfect. Its quick, easy and tastes great. In lieu of chopped mushrooms, I used chopped eggplant and in lieu of worcestershire sauce, I just seasoned the meat while frying it with all purpose seasonings. It provided enough flavor and paired well with the cream of mushroom and wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I used fresh mushrooms (they're always better) and chicken broth (because that's what I had). Came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was very quick and easy recipe. The only thing I did different was didn't have any white wine. So I used beef broth instead. Worked great that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I did not add additional salt when I sauteed the meat because canned soups tend to be a bit salty on their own. I used 8 oz. fresh chopped baby bella mushrooms instead of canned, the full can of beef broth (just to make more "gravy") and fresh ground pepper to taste. I served this over buttered egg noodles. I did not try this myself but my family thought it was great. NO leftovers. This was very simple and came together in 20 minutes, from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was good if you are a hamburger helper fan. I enjoyed it but didn't think it was the best. I would have given 3 stars but my husband loved it and is still eating leftovers the 3rd day! Lol I omitted the mushrooms because we are not a fan. I used slightly more than half a can of beeth broth. I found the the taste of the beef broth overwhelming so I ended up diluting with about 1/4 cup water. This made for the perfect creaminess. Adding the Worcestershire at the end is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Wonderful, quick, simple and tasty recipe! It also works with ground pork and chicken broth when you want a break from red meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Toddler LOVED it, I thought it was tasty, picky husband ehh he ate it, but not super thrilled ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States