No Roll Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Love this recipe! I made these cookies with my daycare kids for St. Patrick's Day. I wanted something not too sweet and this delivered. I used additional butter to replace the shortening since I didn't have any. I also rolled it up in parchment paper (I was out of wax paper)in about a 3 inch log and refrigerated it for an hour and a half. Then I was able to slice it for the children to put on the baking sheets themselves. I made thin slices for crispy cookies and thicker slices for a more chewy cookie. Excellent both ways! Since I didn't want it too sweet I didn't use any additional sugar but you could roll the entire log in sugar before refrigerating or sprinkle some on top of the slices before baking. It would also be an excellent cookie to frost and decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is definitely the easiest and tastiest sugar cookie recipe I have ever used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleigh Czerwinski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I used gluten free flour and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sludy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is an amazing recipe! I baked these for a decorating party and everyone loved them. They are not to thick or soft, so they don't fall apart. Although they are more of a shortbread cookie, I will bake them again. I only baked them for 9 minutes, but I was using a convection oven. I also added 2 tsp. of lemon juice for a little bit of flavor. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Yummy! Made these twice. Cook them less for a softer cookie...more for a crunchy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaCate's personal chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
We LOVE these No Roll Sugar Cookies. Followed recipe until the strange instruction:'Dip glass in white sugar & press balls flat.' I did NOT do that. Sugar does not adhere to a dry surface so that instruction would be pointless. Instead, I used the bottom of the drinking glass only to flatten the cookies evenly on the cookie sheet. I took my fingers & wet them under the faucet, 'painted' a glaze of water on the tops of the flattened cookies so the sugar would stick (don't know if that's necessary, but I did it), then just sprinkled a bit of white sugar according to our taste on top of flattened cookies. Set the timer for 8 minutes & when the timer went off I stood at the oven & checked the cookies often until they were starting to 'tan' around the edges. I don't have an oven light so I use a flashlight to get a quick look before shutting the oven door so the heat doesn't escape. Just a tip. This No Roll Sugar Cookie recipe leaves you room to sweeten it with as much or little topping / frosting as you want which is very smart. When I made a 2nd batch from the same dough that was refrigerated the dough wanted to stick to the bottom of the glass. I did the first batch of cookies that did not stick with dough I'd just made that was room temp. Reviews also mentioned 'you can't roll out these cookies'. Um. Hence the title: 'NO Roll Sugar Cookies.' This is our Sugar Cookie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Delicious cookies . I used butter flavor crisco and followed the recipe and they're great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I would love to know what frosting was used!! :) Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KScarbrough
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I substituted the shortening for Greek yogurt... Bc who needs extra fat and fake food ... Blehh also made them tiny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Fabulous! Making these for the holidays in 2013. Thank you for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States