No Roll Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Excellent recipe!!! Everyone loves these cookies. I did omit the cream of tatar, simply because I didn't have any. I have tried this recipe with both butter and margarine, and butter makes a much tastier cookie. :-) Thanks, Jan!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I was looking for a recipe to mess with to make a peppermint cookie, and this was a winner. I omitted the vanilla and cream of tartar and added 1/4 c. finely crushed candy canes (down to pretty much a powder) and 2 1/2 t. peppermint extract. Then I rolled them in more crushed candy canes and sugar (probably about 1/3 c. and 1/8 c., respectively), and did not flatten them. They turned out extremely well and have become my favorite Christmas cookie this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
When they first came out of the oven the were wonderful. After they cooled they still tasted good but were a bit crumbly. Overall I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
These are so yummy! We've made them at least 4 times since discovering the recipe a couple of weeks ago! I was out of shortening so I substituted butter...they were good but a little flatter and crispier. The recipe yields about 24 medium sized cookies. I did not flatten the cookies before baking and they turned out great! We covered them in a simple powdered sugar glaze (powdered sugar + water) and they were great! I've used regular shortening, butter flavored shortening, and regular butter and they have turned out great each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Good shortbread tasting cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St.Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These were absolutely tasty! And easy. I feel the name "sugar cookies" was a little deceiving though as they aren't exactly the same flavor/texture. They were so easy though - I will definitely use them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This is just the recipe I was looking for! I love the flavor & texture of these cookies, not to mention how easy they are to make! I like to bake them a tiny bit longer so they come out nice & crisp! I also sprinkle some superfine sugar on them just as they come out of the oven for extra sparkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
My husband loves this recipe. He's made is several times. It's so easy to make my young daughter often helps. Very tasty, similar to shortbread. I look forward to experiementing with flavorings like orange and almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
great recipe everyone thought they were store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dunnigan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
Super easy and fast. I do not cook often and these cookies turned out very nicely in under a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States