No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Easy and delicious! I made this for a chicken pot pie and doubled it - worked perfectly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I too have had this recipe for years and it is my go-to recipe for pie crust. Very tender crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I've made this wonderful recipe for 40 years as a quick alternative to a rolled crust. Wisk the oil and milk together in the measuring cup before adding to the flour mixture in the pie plate for even blending of the ingredients. I think it works best prebaked (I bake at 425 degrees F.)with a cooked filling such as in lemon meringue pie. However, I was surprised to find that this even works, unbaked, as a quiche crust without getting soggy. When used unbaked, it stays crisper if the pie is baked for 10 minutes at 425 degrees F and then reduced to your pie recipe temp to finish baking. Expect this crust to be tender and crumbly rather than flaky like a shortening rolled crust...different, but good in its own way. I've come to use this more frequently out of laziness, and because I don't want to use hydrogenated fats. I've tried to reduce the ratio of oil, but all my efforts have been less tender. Corn oil and mixed vegetable oils workd just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by JennFee
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This crust is very crumbly, not flaky. But it's fast and easy and tastes pretty good, though I'd prefer a more buttery flavored crust. I made it with a quiche. Not sure how it would taste with a sweet pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennFee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I use this recipe all the time when I am making chicken pot pie in a 13 x 9 pan. I just double the recipe, I leave out the sugar. I DO roll out the dough because I need a nice rectangle to cover my potpie, but it is so simple to throw together and makes such an easy & I can have the whole thing ready for the oven in about 15-20 minutes tops. It is so easy and good - my family loves it this way, and it definitely beats the bisquick topping in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Robison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
So easy and SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for flaky, perfect crust and I have used it countless times. My only changes are to measure the oil and salt on the scant side (slightly less than what is called for). Makes a better tasting crust. I am so glad I can now make crust without cutting shortening into flour, rolling it out and making a mess of my counters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Easy. Delicious. Buttery--despite the utter lack of butter in my non-dairy version! In the words of my five-year-old: "This is very, very good!" I made it last night for a chicken pot pie. I used only half the salt (only because I've found that things that taste normal to most people taste super salty to me), used olive oil instead of canola, and soy milk instead of regular milk. Mixed it up in seconds. Then, since I needed a top crust as well as a bottom crust, I mixed it up in a bowl and then took some of the mixture out for the bottom crust and rolled out the rest for the top of the pot pie. It turned out perfectly. I have two pre-made pie crusts sitting in my freezer and I think they will be sitting there for awhile...why bother with pre-made when from-scratch turns out so darn good?! :) Thanks for sharing this recipe--can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Super easy and marries perfectly with Quiche by Morgie.I made mini quiches in muffin tins and had zero problems. Tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
good, easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States