No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I've made this a few times, and I just have to say that it is an awesome oil dough recipe. One downside, it definitely needs something for sweet pies, it is a very savory crust as is. I usually add 3 - 4 tablespoons of sugar, or add honey in addition to the sugar. If I prebake it, for things like pudding pies, I even sprinkle some white sugar over the top to bake in during the 10 minutes. I made one mistake when I used it for my pumpkin pie(I baked the crust first, then added the pumpkin), but I just made another pumpkin pie('tis the season), without prebaking it, and the crust was PERFECT. If you double the recipe, it even works for making a 9x13 pie(I feed a LOT of people at times). Thank you for a recipe that always pleases, and always gets asked for. Probably will never stop using this...lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mastic Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
good recipe - - very easy! i recommend mixing the ingredients in a bowl instead of the actual pie plate. it makes less of a mess, and transferring the mixture from the bowl to the pie plate doesnt prove to be difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe was easy and even fun to make. I didn't pre-bake it, instead I added my pumpkin filling and baked it along with the pie. Turned out really yummy and flaky. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalexandropoulos
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I have made this crust several times now, and I have recieved compliments EVERY time. People cannot believe it is a no roll recipe. It is very crispy/flaky and flavorful. It doesn't taste like that horrible shortening used in other no roll recipes. This is very flavorful and SO simple to make. Wonderful texture. UPDATE: I am changing my rating to a 5 star - which I do not give out very often. I have made this crust MANY times now and I get raves EVERY SINGLE TIME. So, this pie crust deserves 5 stars based on taste and texture alone - not to mention simplicity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalexandropoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Super easy! I can't roll pie crust either, and this is tasty. I added nutmeg as suggested, and placed the crust in an 8x8 spuare pan, topped it with fresh apple pie filling and a little crumb crust to make apple pie squares. Yummy-and you don't have to eat a big piece-thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Oh-My-Gosh!! This is, without a doubt, the best pie crust!! I couldn't make a pie crust to save my life, until now. It is so flaky and tender. This will be the only pie crust recipe I will ever turn to. If I could give it 10 stars, I would. Update: I use this recipe all the time for pies and quiche, and even some cream soups. It is great with Cream of Carrot soup, Chicken Pot Pie soup or any type of tomato soup. Each time I serve it to guests, they want the recipe. Even my mother wanted it. This is the best for people that avoid butter, margarine and shortening. If you use canola oil, that is much healthier for you. I always make this for a serving of 10, it gives a nice thick crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
Excellent pie crust and very easy! It made the perfect crust for my fresh blueberry pie! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I would give this 10 stars if I could. I hate rolling out pie crust, it's so messy, and this is simple, easy, and turns out flaky and tasty. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I love making this recipe. Everyone always wants me to make a pie, I usually try not to only because I really hate making the pie crusts. So now, everyone, myself included will be happy I'll be taking request again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I think for a fast pie crust w/o the worry of rolling, it's really good. I was concerned it would be too oily, but it turned out quite nice. Had a nice flavor and was flaky. I did add 1/2 tsp of butter flavor to it, but otherwise followed it exactly. I used this for apple pie since I failed miserably rolling out a traditional crust! I'll use this one again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States