No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I don't understand why everyone thinks this pie crust was "flaky." Personally, mine was a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I must admit I was skeptical at first, but this crust is wonderful! I'm from the old school of rolling/cold shortening cut into chunks/ice-water/small peas & cornmeal...(you know the drill)...and I just didn't think that OIL (of all things!)could produce such a flaky/tender/light/TASTY crust that's made right in the pie plate!! I thought it was not possible...but I'm a believer now and will probably never roll out a crust again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I just made this w/lemon meringue pie and the sweetness perfectly off sets the tartness of the pie. This crust has almost the same taste as a sweet crumb topping. I did not have any canola oil so used olive oil instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
i appreciate the fact that this is an easy, quick, no-roll crust. unfortunately, i was unhappy with the taste. i find no fault with the recipe, though; it's simply a matter of taste, i guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I used to HATE making pies, now I make them all of the time. This recipe is super easy and comes out flaky enough for me and my critics! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairo Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
The only pie crust I ever made that was easy and edible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
this was my first 'made from scratch' pie crust and i must say it was easier than i expected! i mixed it right in the pie plate, and while i ended up kneading it with my hands i am not disappointed! it's yummy, light and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I've made this a few times, and I just have to say that it is an awesome oil dough recipe. One downside, it definitely needs something for sweet pies, it is a very savory crust as is. I usually add 3 - 4 tablespoons of sugar, or add honey in addition to the sugar. If I prebake it, for things like pudding pies, I even sprinkle some white sugar over the top to bake in during the 10 minutes. I made one mistake when I used it for my pumpkin pie(I baked the crust first, then added the pumpkin), but I just made another pumpkin pie('tis the season), without prebaking it, and the crust was PERFECT. If you double the recipe, it even works for making a 9x13 pie(I feed a LOT of people at times). Thank you for a recipe that always pleases, and always gets asked for. Probably will never stop using this...lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mastic Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is the best pie crust I've ever made, and the easiest to boot! My hubby was also impressed! I must say not the nicest looking, though. I'd much rather eat a great tasting pie than a pretty one! =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I would give this 10 stars if I could. I hate rolling out pie crust, it's so messy, and this is simple, easy, and turns out flaky and tasty. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States