No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I liked this recipe. Thanks to the person that suggested mixing it in a separate bowl and then pressing it into the pie dish...that made it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is an easy to make crust. I make it in a bowl and then press into pie plate. I haven't tried rolling it, but seems like it would roll well too. I used it with the Lemon Sour Cream Pie for Thanksgiving. GREAT crust and awesome lemon custard too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is a crust for people who say they dont like crust. It is wonderful. I used about an 8t/h cup of sugar, and it was perfect. And i also love that i dont have to roll it out. easy easy easy.Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clyde, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gibsonburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I liked this crust very much: easy to do, no need to roll and no shortening in it (which I don't like and I can't get easily here in Spain, anyway). I used it for a quiche and I'm very happy with the results. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Excellent. I left out the sugar, because I was using the crust for a pot pie. At the same time, I also made the other No Roll Pie Crust recipe on this site...this one is definitely superior to that one. I have even made this substituting olive oil for half the oil (again for a savory dish, not a dessert pie) and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I give it 5 stars because I don't have the patience or skills to roll crust so with this recipe I finally can make quiche and pies, plus it tastes good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
My mother always had trouble with pie crust so I waited a long time before wanting to try it myself. This recipe was very easy and turned out flaky with a great texture. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I used it with a custard pie and ended up tasting the oil more than the pie. I will definitely keep this recipe and take the advice of other reviewers and try melted butter instead of oil next time. I do agree, however, that it would be an excellent crust for quiche! Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I'm a big fan of this crust. The sifting makes a difference. It works great for the quiches I make about once a week. I think it tastes just as good as crust made from shortening, with half the work. I wouldn't use this recipe if I were making a pie because I like a thick flaky crust for sweet pies, but for a quiche this works great. This is the best oil crust recipe I have come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
With temps in AZ, I'd chill this for awhile in the fridge after mixing. (Done 5/12/08). Takes some pressing, but it filled a 9" pie pan with this "dough." BOTTOM LINE: Made a mix of classical Quiche Lorraine filling consisting of 3 eggs, onions, herbs, plus some good Black Forest ham, diced. Unfortunately this ain't no Paté Brisée!!! Nevertheless, in a crashing hurry, it works, and it tastes pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennsy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oracle, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was not what I was looking for. I used this recipe as recommended by a quiche recipe and I did not like the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mathews, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States