No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I thought this crust tasted delicious for a meat pie I made (the recipe for the filling however, was not delicious). I made a bonehead mistake and wanted to use this crust as a top crust but I didn't have parchment paper to roll it out on so my top "crust" ended up more like delicious patchwork. This was super quick and easy to make and I know I will make this again. Next time I plan on using my food processor with a dough blade to mix and get some parchment paper if I need to make a top crust. Otherwise, just mixing it in the pie dish works wonderfully for a bottom crust! Also, this crust is definitely for savory. I'm not sure how to sweeten it without using a ton of sugar but this crust would be great (it's light and flaky) for quiche, pot pies, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was very easy to make, but tasted very flour-y and I ended up just scooping the filling out the pie and eating that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Great for a tart but I don't think I would use it for pies unless they were pudding pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Doubled the recipe to fit a 9x13. Made it for a quiche and it was great. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great recipe! I added 3 1/2 tbsp sugar since I was using it for pumpkin pie (Libby's Famous Pumpkin Pie recipe from this site). Mixing ingredients in a bowl rather than the pie plate was good advice to reduce mess. Super easy for someone who had never before made crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Perfect! I'll use this for all my pies. I used it for a sweet potato pie (Using up leftovers after Thanksgiving!), it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This pie crust comes out perfect EVERY TIME! My mom's even rolled it and it came out great. So simple and consistent results earn this top marks from me. It's also super quick, I turned out two crusts for a pot pie tonight in about 5 minutes. The only thing I do differently is to mix it up in a separate bowl first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very tender & flaky!! I am a terrible cook who usually uses a refrigerated pie crust that you just unroll into the pan. Unfortunately, I forgot to buy one, and the supermarket is a half hour away. I had no solid shortening and no rolling pin, so I decided to try this recipe. It is super easy and delicious. No more refrigerated crusts for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
What a wonderfully easy crust! Delicate, flavorful... tastes like it took much more time and effort than it did. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I also made my own crust. I altered the recipe and I used 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour, 1 cup of grated unsweetened coconut, 1 cup of ground quinoa seeds grond into a flour , 1/2 of whole flaxseeds. Do not grind them for this recipe it will not work well. 1 tablespoon of agave nectar, 1tbs of cinnamon powder, 1/2 tsp. sea salt, and 1tbs of vanilla essence, and 1/2 cup of extra virgin coconut oil. I got two (2) pie shells from that recipe and I pressed them down into the 9in pie dishes. I took a fork, and punched holes through the pie shells, and I baked them for 45mins. at 250 degrees because coconut oil burns at high temperature, and also to preserve the nutrients in the pie crusts. It was delicious!!! You can still enjoy desserts, just make them a little healthier!!!! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States