No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Great recipe! Super easy and incredibly quick to make! I halved the amount of salt called for to 1/4 tsp though. Personally I don't mind the rolling part when making a conventional pie crust, its all that chilling and resting that bothers me. This recipe takes all that away and more. Flaky too. Definitely a keeper. Thanks Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwg_86

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. I wanted soooo much to love (or even like) this recipe. I hate making pie shells and thought this would be the perfect solution. It was easy, even my 3 year old had a blast pressing it into the pie plate with me but the end result left much to be desired. It is very crumbly, not at all flaky in my opion and tastes like, well, oil and flour. I will keep this recipe for those times when I need a quick pie shell but would not use this to serve to guests - EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
WOW! This was the first time I ever made a real pie or any crust for a pie. I am SO GLAD that I read the reviews and followed their instructions. My pumpkin pie got rave reviews from my husband who is a pastry chef and he loved the crust. GO FIGURE!! I even accidently cooked the pie crust before adding the pumpkin in and cooking it. Thanks to a friend's pie shield, I was able to cook the crust for almost 40min and it didn't burn!! This is now my go to recipe for future baked pie crusts:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I use this recipe every year for pumpkin pie. This turns out perfect every time and I agree that there is no need to prebake the crust. I follow the pumpkin pie filling recipe and this turns out awesome. I highly recommend this to everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jinnifer Maines Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JJRsMomma
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very, very good pie crust. There was absolutely no need to pre-bake this crust. I used pumpkin pie to fill the crust and it came out perfect. Delicious, slightly crumbly and flaky. It did not fall apart or crumble when slicing the pie and it held together when lifted out of the pan. Definitely a keeper. Almost forgot to add: I added 3 tablespoons of sugar because I like my dessert crusts to be sweet. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I love making this recipe. Everyone always wants me to make a pie, I usually try not to only because I really hate making the pie crusts. So now, everyone, myself included will be happy I'll be taking request again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I am not able to make a crust. I have an apple tree in my yard and wanted to make a pie. Hours before Irene hit us I decided to make one. I looked for a quick crust recipe with ingredients I had. I only added extra sugar per reviews and in under an hour I had a pie. I also used the Apple Crumble Pie recipe from here. Thank you Laura for posting this quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Oh my! I make pie and quiche so seldomly because I can't be bothered to roll a crust - no more! This is fabulous, flaky, and no mixing bowl or rolling pin required! I doubled the recipe and used it in a 9x13 pan for quiche and it turned out great. So happy I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was a perfect crust, but it could be a bit sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I thought this crust tasted delicious for a meat pie I made (the recipe for the filling however, was not delicious). I made a bonehead mistake and wanted to use this crust as a top crust but I didn't have parchment paper to roll it out on so my top "crust" ended up more like delicious patchwork. This was super quick and easy to make and I know I will make this again. Next time I plan on using my food processor with a dough blade to mix and get some parchment paper if I need to make a top crust. Otherwise, just mixing it in the pie dish works wonderfully for a bottom crust! Also, this crust is definitely for savory. I'm not sure how to sweeten it without using a ton of sugar but this crust would be great (it's light and flaky) for quiche, pot pies, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States