No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for flaky, perfect crust and I have used it countless times. My only changes are to measure the oil and salt on the scant side (slightly less than what is called for). Makes a better tasting crust. I am so glad I can now make crust without cutting shortening into flour, rolling it out and making a mess of my counters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Easy. Delicious. Buttery--despite the utter lack of butter in my non-dairy version! In the words of my five-year-old: "This is very, very good!" I made it last night for a chicken pot pie. I used only half the salt (only because I've found that things that taste normal to most people taste super salty to me), used olive oil instead of canola, and soy milk instead of regular milk. Mixed it up in seconds. Then, since I needed a top crust as well as a bottom crust, I mixed it up in a bowl and then took some of the mixture out for the bottom crust and rolled out the rest for the top of the pot pie. It turned out perfectly. I have two pre-made pie crusts sitting in my freezer and I think they will be sitting there for awhile...why bother with pre-made when from-scratch turns out so darn good?! :) Thanks for sharing this recipe--can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shira Goldenholz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Super easy and marries perfectly with Quiche by Morgie.I made mini quiches in muffin tins and had zero problems. Tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
good, easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I have to admit, this was definitely flaky. However, the crust turned out way too crumbly for me and wouldn't hold its shape. When I cut it with my banana cream pie filling in it, it just fell apart. Sadly, I think I will still be searching for that easy no-roll pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I love to bake and feel guilty buying premade pie crust. This recipe is delish and easy to make. I even used it for my top crust on my apple pie. After mixing the ingredients in a bowl I dumped it out on a sheet of waxed paper and pressed it out into a circle. Then I just flipped it over (carefully) on top of my pie and pressed the edges. I will never buy premade crust again. Thank you for sharing! My grandmother would be so proud of me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adgoods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Need to up the sugar to 3 T. No need to bake before making apple pie. So easy and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
The whole mixing process took about one minute. I have to admit, the thought that went through my mind was "this was too easy to taste good." But, it really is a wonderful crust! It's very flaky and I think I'll be using it from now on. As another reviewer suggested, I added 3 tbsps of sugar. Next time, I'll increase it to about 4 tbsps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I didn't really like this crust. Made it exactly as the recipe called for except for adding a little extra sugar. I thought it was rather bland and I found it oily. I gave it 3 stars because it was really easy but I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is a wonderful pie crust recipe to use for making a savory quiche. I add a few finely chopped, fresh herbs to the pie dough (thyme, rosemary, basil ... whatever your preference) before patting it into the pan. The herbs make the crust extra special--and a perfect complement to my spinach quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States