No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I love using this recipe. My husband loves the flakiness of this crust. It is so simple to make and comes out so delicious. It is an awesome time-saver for me when I have two or three things going on at one time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_LV_Bontrager

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I tried this and it was excellent. So I went one step further I took a ready made crust and made a double crusted apple pie. just leave half inch more crust on top and bottom worked great. But the bottom crust tasted better than the top. so I went one further step and made the top crust with the same no roll crust did on a floured almost flat 10.5 inch plate on top of wax paper and put in FREEZER covered with wax paper. 3 or 4 hours would be sufficient. After filling bottom slide a knife around plate. Let stand TILL PLYABLE. Slide onto pie and then pinch bottom to top and use fork and press all around. you will be pleasantly surprised. Excess crust can be made into cookies with sprinkled sugar and cinnamon great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I cant make a rolled pie crust to save my life so I wanted to like this, I really did. But even after a couple of tweaks (an extra tsp of sugar and a tsp of vanilla) it was still not very good. All I could taste was the oil and it had a "sandy" not flaky texture. 1 star for ease and another star because it wasn't absolutely horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Fantastic. My husband's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Easy and delicious! I made this for a chicken pot pie and doubled it - worked perfectly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I too have had this recipe for years and it is my go-to recipe for pie crust. Very tender crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I've made this wonderful recipe for 40 years as a quick alternative to a rolled crust. Wisk the oil and milk together in the measuring cup before adding to the flour mixture in the pie plate for even blending of the ingredients. I think it works best prebaked (I bake at 425 degrees F.)with a cooked filling such as in lemon meringue pie. However, I was surprised to find that this even works, unbaked, as a quiche crust without getting soggy. When used unbaked, it stays crisper if the pie is baked for 10 minutes at 425 degrees F and then reduced to your pie recipe temp to finish baking. Expect this crust to be tender and crumbly rather than flaky like a shortening rolled crust...different, but good in its own way. I've come to use this more frequently out of laziness, and because I don't want to use hydrogenated fats. I've tried to reduce the ratio of oil, but all my efforts have been less tender. Corn oil and mixed vegetable oils workd just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by JennFee
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This crust is very crumbly, not flaky. But it's fast and easy and tastes pretty good, though I'd prefer a more buttery flavored crust. I made it with a quiche. Not sure how it would taste with a sweet pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennFee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I use this recipe all the time when I am making chicken pot pie in a 13 x 9 pan. I just double the recipe, I leave out the sugar. I DO roll out the dough because I need a nice rectangle to cover my potpie, but it is so simple to throw together and makes such an easy & I can have the whole thing ready for the oven in about 15-20 minutes tops. It is so easy and good - my family loves it this way, and it definitely beats the bisquick topping in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Robison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
So easy and SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States