No Roll Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JennFee
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This crust is very crumbly, not flaky. But it's fast and easy and tastes pretty good, though I'd prefer a more buttery flavored crust. I made it with a quiche. Not sure how it would taste with a sweet pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennFee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I use this recipe all the time when I am making chicken pot pie in a 13 x 9 pan. I just double the recipe, I leave out the sugar. I DO roll out the dough because I need a nice rectangle to cover my potpie, but it is so simple to throw together and makes such an easy & I can have the whole thing ready for the oven in about 15-20 minutes tops. It is so easy and good - my family loves it this way, and it definitely beats the bisquick topping in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
So easy and SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for flaky, perfect crust and I have used it countless times. My only changes are to measure the oil and salt on the scant side (slightly less than what is called for). Makes a better tasting crust. I am so glad I can now make crust without cutting shortening into flour, rolling it out and making a mess of my counters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Easy. Delicious. Buttery--despite the utter lack of butter in my non-dairy version! In the words of my five-year-old: "This is very, very good!" I made it last night for a chicken pot pie. I used only half the salt (only because I've found that things that taste normal to most people taste super salty to me), used olive oil instead of canola, and soy milk instead of regular milk. Mixed it up in seconds. Then, since I needed a top crust as well as a bottom crust, I mixed it up in a bowl and then took some of the mixture out for the bottom crust and rolled out the rest for the top of the pot pie. It turned out perfectly. I have two pre-made pie crusts sitting in my freezer and I think they will be sitting there for awhile...why bother with pre-made when from-scratch turns out so darn good?! :) Thanks for sharing this recipe--can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Super easy and marries perfectly with Quiche by Morgie.I made mini quiches in muffin tins and had zero problems. Tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
good, easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I have to admit, this was definitely flaky. However, the crust turned out way too crumbly for me and wouldn't hold its shape. When I cut it with my banana cream pie filling in it, it just fell apart. Sadly, I think I will still be searching for that easy no-roll pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I love to bake and feel guilty buying premade pie crust. This recipe is delish and easy to make. I even used it for my top crust on my apple pie. After mixing the ingredients in a bowl I dumped it out on a sheet of waxed paper and pressed it out into a circle. Then I just flipped it over (carefully) on top of my pie and pressed the edges. I will never buy premade crust again. Thank you for sharing! My grandmother would be so proud of me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adgoods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Need to up the sugar to 3 T. No need to bake before making apple pie. So easy and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States