No Roll Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2000
I made a pie using this crust and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
I found this recipe here a few months ago when I needed a pie crust, but had no rolling pin. Now, many pies and praises later, it is the only one I use. It is very simple, and turns out perfect everytime. A definite 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
This recipe is AMAZING! I've always made my crusts with butter and/ or shortening, so they were fairly time-consuming & difficult to work with. But I whipped this crust up in 5 minutes, & it was delicious-- flaky, tender, & crisp (my pie crusts have tended to be soggy). I'm so glad I discovered this recipe at the beginning of summer so I can use it for all my fresh fruit pies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
VERY GOOD! The simplicity of the recipe concerned me ... no sugar, no milk, etc. but I tried it as is only substituting peanut oil with canola oil and olive oil mixture. Pressing it to the pan took awhile for me since I was very concerned about it being even throughout. I then stuck it in the freezer while I worked on my apple pie filling. When I took it out of the freezer it was rather dry and hard looking. Like the other reviewers, I was impressed with the result. It only did not get a five star because there was a very "pressed" feel to the crust and was not the light flakey taste but hey, it's not that kind of recipe. And also, that may be me pressing it too much trying to get it evenly distributed. The crust turned out crispy and tasty. I will use this recipe again even when I do get my rolling pin back. (I may try rolling it next time to save time on pressing). I used to buy Marie Callendar's premade crust which was excellent but gets pricey and inconvenient. I'll be doing this instead when in a pinch and don't feel like rolling out a crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I used a rolling pin although it says it's a no-roll crust as it's much easier to flatten out the dough. This recipe really SAVES a LOT of my time (no need to use shortening) and IT WORKS SO WELL (really crispy crust)!! I'm sure gonna use this recipe instead of others for the rest of the pies I'm gonna make in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Sooo easy and so good. Excellent recipe and so quick! I was thrilled that it turned out so great! Did I mention how easy this was!! I used a food processor for the mixing to make it even easier. Wow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
The best easily adaptable for your own tastes. Of course i add a little more seasoning because I like my food flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I loved how easy this was. It turned out perfect for me. I also used an olive oil/ canola mixture. The olive oil gave it nice flavor. I used this with a quiche. I will definately use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Oh my goodness, so easy! I did not have peanut oil so I used 1/4 cup of canola oil and 1/4 cup olive oil. Worked out great! Will definatly use again since I don't have a roller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I used vegtable oil instead of peanut oil and this crust turned out to be my best ever! I am so pleased. There was enough for me to make a top & bottom crust too! Since I dont have a rolling pin here, I just smoothed out the top crust between two pieces of wax paper with my fingers. Also, before baking I brushed the top with a little milk and sprinkled it with cinnamon sugar. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States