No Roll Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Wow - easy and tasty! I made apple pie with a brown sugar sweet crumb crust and this recipe for the bottom crust. It turned out perfect. I'll use this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This crust tasted great and was perfect for my apple crumb pie! I am not an experienced baker so I was relieved when I found this recipe. It was very simple, easy to understand and follow, and to top it off it tassted great!! I will use this recipe over and over and share it with all my friends and family. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Absolutely great for the chicken pot pie I made last night, but a COMPLETE DISASTER for the lemon meringue pie!!! Chicken Pot Pie: I pressed the crust into the pan, filled & baked the whole thing to perfection. So easy! Five stars!! Lemon Meringue: I pressed it in the pan, it slid down before I could get the filling in, so I pressed again & refrigerated. It slid down again, so I could not pre-bake it. So I went for it. Huge mistake. I kept baking & baking until my meringue was tan all over & still, it did not set up past the cm or so that stuck out from the meringue. I should have known better, it's my own fault. Don't make the same mistake I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delores Kyle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Easy and tasty! Honestly, crusts are not my favorite part of a pie, but this was fast, easy and does not include crisco. I used this for a Dutch apple pie and it was perfect. After reading some of the reviews, I used only 1/4 tsp salt, and I used the smart balance vegetable oil that I had on hand. I prebaked it for 5 minutes before adding the pie filling. I will never even consider using crisco in a crust now! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
The 1st time I attempted this recipe was for lemon meringue pie and I found the vegetable oil had too strong a flavour - greasy tasting. I made it again for quiche using melted margarine and it turned out excellent. I also tried making 2 batches for an apple pie, and found that if you chill the dough you are able to roll it out for slicing if you want to make a cross hatch top crust. This is a great vegan pie crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
this crust works best when you only need a bottom crust. It also would help if you bake the crust for 10 min, cooling, and then place the filling. I found my bottom crust to be too gooey. It was very difficult to make a top crust with recipe because it does not roll out easily. tastes good though, but not flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annalynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Fabulous! Easy! Seriously took five minutes to make a double batch! I used canola oil and unbleached flour. Best with savory dishes verses sweet. I poked it with a fork all over and blind baked it for a shepard's pie. Everyone had seconds! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Followed this recipe as written. Nobody ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Very simple and quick, and perfect for the recipe I used. I made the Walnut Honey Rum Pie on here and it calls for an unbaked pie crust, so that's what I went with and it worked just fine. this is very flaky and is pretty easy to press in the pan. I ended up with a small ball of extra dough, but I think my pie pan is small (it's glass) compared to others, so I frequently experience that issue. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Ok - I wasn't sure about this recipe but this is a keeper! So easy - light and flaky. I did a double batch for a two crust pit - it wasn't the prettiest pie I ever made but the taste made up for the less than perfect looking crust. I did put the dough into the refrigertor, in rounds and then gently rolled rather that pat - still - was super easy and delicious! UPDATE: I did this again - 4 batches (used Canola Oil) and rolled on a floured mat. Lined the pie pans and let rest in the refrigerator. Filled topped and baked. They are GREAT. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States