No Roll Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Wow - easy and tasty! I made apple pie with a brown sugar sweet crumb crust and this recipe for the bottom crust. It turned out perfect. I'll use this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This crust tasted great and was perfect for my apple crumb pie! I am not an experienced baker so I was relieved when I found this recipe. It was very simple, easy to understand and follow, and to top it off it tassted great!! I will use this recipe over and over and share it with all my friends and family. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Absolutely great for the chicken pot pie I made last night, but a COMPLETE DISASTER for the lemon meringue pie!!! Chicken Pot Pie: I pressed the crust into the pan, filled & baked the whole thing to perfection. So easy! Five stars!! Lemon Meringue: I pressed it in the pan, it slid down before I could get the filling in, so I pressed again & refrigerated. It slid down again, so I could not pre-bake it. So I went for it. Huge mistake. I kept baking & baking until my meringue was tan all over & still, it did not set up past the cm or so that stuck out from the meringue. I should have known better, it's my own fault. Don't make the same mistake I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delores Kyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Easy and tasty! Honestly, crusts are not my favorite part of a pie, but this was fast, easy and does not include crisco. I used this for a Dutch apple pie and it was perfect. After reading some of the reviews, I used only 1/4 tsp salt, and I used the smart balance vegetable oil that I had on hand. I prebaked it for 5 minutes before adding the pie filling. I will never even consider using crisco in a crust now! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
The 1st time I attempted this recipe was for lemon meringue pie and I found the vegetable oil had too strong a flavour - greasy tasting. I made it again for quiche using melted margarine and it turned out excellent. I also tried making 2 batches for an apple pie, and found that if you chill the dough you are able to roll it out for slicing if you want to make a cross hatch top crust. This is a great vegan pie crust recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
this crust works best when you only need a bottom crust. It also would help if you bake the crust for 10 min, cooling, and then place the filling. I found my bottom crust to be too gooey. It was very difficult to make a top crust with recipe because it does not roll out easily. tastes good though, but not flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annalynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Fabulous! Easy! Seriously took five minutes to make a double batch! I used canola oil and unbleached flour. Best with savory dishes verses sweet. I poked it with a fork all over and blind baked it for a shepard's pie. Everyone had seconds! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Followed this recipe as written. Nobody ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Very simple and quick, and perfect for the recipe I used. I made the Walnut Honey Rum Pie on here and it calls for an unbaked pie crust, so that's what I went with and it worked just fine. this is very flaky and is pretty easy to press in the pan. I ended up with a small ball of extra dough, but I think my pie pan is small (it's glass) compared to others, so I frequently experience that issue. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Ok - I wasn't sure about this recipe but this is a keeper! So easy - light and flaky. I did a double batch for a two crust pit - it wasn't the prettiest pie I ever made but the taste made up for the less than perfect looking crust. I did put the dough into the refrigertor, in rounds and then gently rolled rather that pat - still - was super easy and delicious! UPDATE: I did this again - 4 batches (used Canola Oil) and rolled on a floured mat. Lined the pie pans and let rest in the refrigerator. Filled topped and baked. They are GREAT. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States