No Roll Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I saw this in the latest reviews and I was curious. So I had to make it. After reading reviews I cut the salt in half. The dough's texture when I was bringing it together in the bowl was good. It was fairly simple to shape it in my quiche dish, which was one of the things I was worried about. The other thing was taste but the general verdict was that it was very good. Whilst this won't replace my favourite all butter crust from this site, I can see me using this again if I'm in a hurry or don't have the ingredients for my usual crust. Glad my curiosity led me to this one. Thanks for the interesting recipe Karin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is a terrific pie crust. I use it all the time. All you have to do to roll it out just right is put it between 2 sheets of wax paper and use a rolling pin. Not to mention you don't actually have to use peanut oil, I've used Canola, Vegetable, and Corn oil with this recipe and it yields the same results. This saves money since everything you need is probably right there in your cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This alternative crust is a tiny sacrifice on taste for a huge return on time (and still way better than a store-bought crust). If it wasn't for this recipe I would never even bother trying to make a pie. Also great if you don't have a rolling pin handy. Be warned that it is a bit on the salty side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Excellent. Thank you for a healthfully made pie crust recipe. Only thing I did different is used unbleached flour. I always use peanut oil as it is much, much better than most oils you buy at the store. Next time I will try rolling it between 2 pieces of waxed paper so I can crimp the edges of the crust. I really could not tell any difference in taste, compared to the shortening type I used to make. Will always use this recipe from now on. Worked very well with the Chocolate Chess pie I made yesterday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I LOVE this pie crust recipe. This is the only one that I use anymore. I usually add 2 tbsp sugar to the dough, only when I'm making a more mild pie. I find that it helps to give the crust a touch of sweet. When I make pumpkin pies, I add just a dash of ginger, nutmeg, cinnamon, and all spice to the dough. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
pretty good for quiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
No shortening around the house & I needed 1 pie crust so I gave this a try. It literally is mix, press, fill & bake. So easy, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I am so grateful for this recipe! Being excessively lazy, I love how quick and easy it is....and it tastes really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEELEYSBROOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This pie crust is so simple that I was skeptical about how it would turn out. To my delight it was wonderful as a chicken pot pie crust- so light and flakey yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Excellent and very easy! It was the perfect crust to try given I've never made any crust pies before. Oh yeah, Shepherd's pie doesn't count. No crust on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States