No-Peek Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This had good flavor. I didn't like the texture of the meat, it wasn't tender but more stringy. Could have just been the quality of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Good stuff - my kids loved it, and that's always a sure sign of a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I added a can of sliced carrots & a can of diced potatoes to add some veggies for my 1 yr old. Everyone loved it. I even got rave reviews from my mother & sister (both excellent cooks themselves). I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This recipe was very tasty (even my picky hubby liked it)! I used cream of potato instead of mushroom, and browned the meat before cooking as suggested by a few others. Also, I added potatoes and veggies we like. I cooked on high for about 6 hours, and it was perfect, no need to thicken at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I give it 2 stars for pure simplicity. The end result was very soupy and bland. I added about 3 tablespoons of cornstarch with equal parts water during the last hour in an attempt to thicken it. Still very runny. Needed LOTS of salt and pepper. I will make it again but will add some spices to it at the beginning and half the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I made this with sliced sirlion steak and it was excellent. I didn't have french onion soup or mushrooms, so I doubled the COM soup and added reconstituted dried onions. To speed it up I cooked it on the stove for about an hour. Mixed in some sour cream and noodles and served it with two other recipes from this site: Honey Ginger Carrots and some warm buttered Butternut Squash Bread that I had in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was a nice alternative to the way I usually do stew meat or a roast in the crock-pot. The only thing I might have done differently would be to add some carrots. I did thicken it up at the end with a little cornstarch. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
wow! what an easy delicious meal!! i modified it a bit based on other recommendations. i dredged the beef in flour first and seared it in a pan with a tablespoon of oil (to keep the juices in.) i didn't have any cream of mushroom soup so i used cream of potato. i also added a few cups of frozen roasted potatoes during the last hour of cooking. this was such a nice meal to come home from work to. my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
The name is a little misleading. This really comes out more as a stroganoff than a stew. I double all but the "dry French Onion Soup Mix" and meat. Otherwise, the meat is overwhelming and there isn't enough sauce for your noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I've made this several times this winter and we all enjoyed it. Like others, I added carrots, red potatoes and fresh mushrooms. Smells so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States