No-Peek Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This was a good base for stew, but I did make a few additions to suit my family. I added carrots and potatoes and a pkg of onion soup mix along with salt, pepper, Accent, garlic powder, and thyme, which I think it definitely needed. The meat came out very tender and the broth was excellent (I thickened it a little at the end with instant potato flakes). I will be using this recipe for stew from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This recipe was awful! First off, the stew meat should be browned first so the juices stay inside the meat. Without browning, the juices escape and mingle with the other liquids and create a very unappetizing pinkish foam on top of the stew. It also makes the meat drier than if it was browned first. Second, the stew liquid is way too thin. It needs cornstarch or some other thickener otherwise it is like soup. Also, it makes a very light creamy colored stew instead of a richer brown color typically associated with stew. Thirdly, I used condensed Onion Soup (campbells) because I couldn't find French Onion soup. It wasn't that good but maybe the French onion soup would be better. Don't waste your time or money on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
A wonderful tender stew! To make a complete meal out of this, I added carrots and potatoes. I also added a packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I made a few modifications, but it turned out great! I used extra lean beef stew meat, 1 can low-fat cream of mushroom soup, 1 packet dry onion soup mix (didn't have the soup on hand), a cup of red wine, a cup of water and a few dashes of garlic powder and it was excellent! The best beef stew I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This dish was very easy to make and delicious. I added potatoes, peas, onions, carrotts and used bamboo mushrooms as opposed to regular mushrooms. The added ingredients really made it heartier. I suggest adding salt to the cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
We tried this yesterday and it is definitely a "keeper" for us. I did add potatoes and pearl onions. Next time I'll also add carrots and green beans. I also thickened it up with corn starch to make it more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
A delicious, super-easy comfort dinner. As a prior poster suggested, I increased quantities of soups and the wine. For 1.25lb of stew beef, I used one full can each of Campbell's French Onion and Cream of Mushroom Soup, and 1 full cup of merlot red wine. Also per another poster's suggestion, I added garlic powder and thyme to taste, and a healthy dash of fresh black pepper. About 2 1/2 hours before I was anticipating it would be finished, I added about 5 quartered baby red potatoes, and a dash of parsley flakes. I served it over wide egg noodles, and with buttered baby carrots on the side. My fiance loved it! He had 2 full helpings, as did I. I found the meat to be quite tender and flaky, and there was plenty enough 'gravy' to counteract any dryness the meat might've had. I personally can't even stand the scent of mushrooms, and was apprehensive about using the soup in this recipe, but it definitely turned out for the best. Thanks Cheryl! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Just what I was looking for... a super easy dish to throw in the crockpot. I used a Cabernet Sauvignon, added parsley, rosemary, a pinch of thyme, two cloves of garlic, 1/2 lb. baby carrots and a bag of fresh crimini mushrooms towards the end. We had this with buttered egg noodles. I might make it again. Thanks for the post, Cheryl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
YUM YUM!!! This is a fabulous recipe for people who are NOT fans of Beef Stew, OR are looking for a different taste. I added potatoes and used a Lipton onion soup packet instead of the french onion soup, and it still came out wonderful! My daughter who is not a "stew" fan, had 2 HUGE bowls!! perfect comfort food! This one is a keeper in my house!! thanks Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I personally did NOT like this at all (so sorry Cheryl!) BUT my boyfriend and roommate dug this recipe alot. I added baby carrots, celery, and the required mushrooms halfway during cooking. I would like to think I purchased a nice cut of meat but after 8 hours, the meat was flavorful by dried out (I have never had that problem before!). The meat literally fell apart even though it was already cubed but it tasted dry...which I assume was due to the wine. I just mixed it into my mashed potatoes and I could finish my plate. Even though I didn't care for this, like I said, my boyfriend and roommate though this was really good! This might become one of those recipes I send with them when they go up north in the fall...this is a recipe they could make (I'll add cubed potatoes to make the meal complete). It's that easy. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States