No-Peek Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
Very good. A bit soupy, though. I cooked the meat in a pressure cooker for 15 minutes to make it more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This was sooooo good....it smells really fantastic when you come home at the end of the work day and walk in the door. I made it one day when we were both off, and I think we sat around the crock pot waiting for it to be done! :-) It's a standby now, and it gives me a base that I can expand on if I want to change it too, and I like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
A wonderful tender stew! To make a complete meal out of this, I added carrots and potatoes. I also added a packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This was a good base for stew, but I did make a few additions to suit my family. I added carrots and potatoes and a pkg of onion soup mix along with salt, pepper, Accent, garlic powder, and thyme, which I think it definitely needed. The meat came out very tender and the broth was excellent (I thickened it a little at the end with instant potato flakes). I will be using this recipe for stew from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
YUM YUM!!! This is a fabulous recipe for people who are NOT fans of Beef Stew, OR are looking for a different taste. I added potatoes and used a Lipton onion soup packet instead of the french onion soup, and it still came out wonderful! My daughter who is not a "stew" fan, had 2 HUGE bowls!! perfect comfort food! This one is a keeper in my house!! thanks Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Very tasty! Used onion soup mix instead of the french onion soup...added a little water, and a little more wine. I think next time I'll add some pearl onions...very good though and definately would have it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
We tried this yesterday and it is definitely a "keeper" for us. I did add potatoes and pearl onions. Next time I'll also add carrots and green beans. I also thickened it up with corn starch to make it more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This was OK. Added 8 oz. frozen green beans to round it out for hubby on Atkins. Would be better with some potatoes and carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I personally did NOT like this at all (so sorry Cheryl!) BUT my boyfriend and roommate dug this recipe alot. I added baby carrots, celery, and the required mushrooms halfway during cooking. I would like to think I purchased a nice cut of meat but after 8 hours, the meat was flavorful by dried out (I have never had that problem before!). The meat literally fell apart even though it was already cubed but it tasted dry...which I assume was due to the wine. I just mixed it into my mashed potatoes and I could finish my plate. Even though I didn't care for this, like I said, my boyfriend and roommate though this was really good! This might become one of those recipes I send with them when they go up north in the fall...this is a recipe they could make (I'll add cubed potatoes to make the meal complete). It's that easy. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I MADE THIS FOR FRIENDS & FAMILY AND EVERYONE LIKED IT. I DID CHANGE A COUPLE OF THINGS. I DOUBLED THE SOUP & WINE AMOUNTS. I THINK THE FRENCH ONION SOUP MADE IT A LITTLE SALTY, SO I ADDED A 3RD CAN OF CREAM OF MUSHROOM SOUP AND THICKENED WITH CORNSTARCH. VERY GOOD WITH SOURDOUGH BREAD. THIS IS DEFINITELY A RECIPE I WILL MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States