No-Peek Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Came out as something between stew and soup, but tastes good and ridiculously easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
We liked it and the simplicity of this recipe is its greatest selling point. I really liked the flavor the red wine added to it. I also thickened it with cornstarch at the end because I thought it was a little too soupy. Next time I may try adding a few seasonings to liven it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Cainta, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
this was good. my family loved it! so easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This is wonderful. I use whole mushrooms instead of canned. I also serve it over egg noodles. Easy to make and my whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
A delicious, super-easy comfort dinner. As a prior poster suggested, I increased quantities of soups and the wine. For 1.25lb of stew beef, I used one full can each of Campbell's French Onion and Cream of Mushroom Soup, and 1 full cup of merlot red wine. Also per another poster's suggestion, I added garlic powder and thyme to taste, and a healthy dash of fresh black pepper. About 2 1/2 hours before I was anticipating it would be finished, I added about 5 quartered baby red potatoes, and a dash of parsley flakes. I served it over wide egg noodles, and with buttered baby carrots on the side. My fiance loved it! He had 2 full helpings, as did I. I found the meat to be quite tender and flaky, and there was plenty enough 'gravy' to counteract any dryness the meat might've had. I personally can't even stand the scent of mushrooms, and was apprehensive about using the soup in this recipe, but it definitely turned out for the best. Thanks Cheryl! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
While the smell of this stew was FANTASTIC, I have to say we were abit disappointed with the overall taste. Bland. I couldnt get over it. Maybe next time I will add more seasonings and try to thicken up the stew to more of a gravy. We served it over rice and this was great, but it just needs more punch and thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Good but rich. We probably won't use it again but I can see where some people would really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I thought that this recipe was quite flavorful!!! My only complaint was that the meat was quite dried out, as soon as I stirred the stew the meat fell appart and was quite flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
Wonderfully easy, tasty basic beef stew. I followed some of my predacessors, by using DryFrench Onion (beef) soup mix, and extra wine. I also mixed in a small amount of water and cornstarch for thickness. Next time I will use yellow onions, carrots, and potatoes and make it a more traditional meal. Great taste, very simple. Thanks Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Super easy and DELICIOUS! I didn't have any wine (I don't drink) so I substituted three tablespoons of Balsalmic (Sp?) vinegar. Next time I make it, I'm going to add chopped onions and celery. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAO
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States