No-Peek Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This had good flavor. I didn't like the texture of the meat, it wasn't tender but more stringy. Could have just been the quality of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Good stuff - my kids loved it, and that's always a sure sign of a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I added a can of sliced carrots & a can of diced potatoes to add some veggies for my 1 yr old. Everyone loved it. I even got rave reviews from my mother & sister (both excellent cooks themselves). I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This recipe was very tasty (even my picky hubby liked it)! I used cream of potato instead of mushroom, and browned the meat before cooking as suggested by a few others. Also, I added potatoes and veggies we like. I cooked on high for about 6 hours, and it was perfect, no need to thicken at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I give it 2 stars for pure simplicity. The end result was very soupy and bland. I added about 3 tablespoons of cornstarch with equal parts water during the last hour in an attempt to thicken it. Still very runny. Needed LOTS of salt and pepper. I will make it again but will add some spices to it at the beginning and half the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I made this with sliced sirlion steak and it was excellent. I didn't have french onion soup or mushrooms, so I doubled the COM soup and added reconstituted dried onions. To speed it up I cooked it on the stove for about an hour. Mixed in some sour cream and noodles and served it with two other recipes from this site: Honey Ginger Carrots and some warm buttered Butternut Squash Bread that I had in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was a nice alternative to the way I usually do stew meat or a roast in the crock-pot. The only thing I might have done differently would be to add some carrots. I did thicken it up at the end with a little cornstarch. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
wow! what an easy delicious meal!! i modified it a bit based on other recommendations. i dredged the beef in flour first and seared it in a pan with a tablespoon of oil (to keep the juices in.) i didn't have any cream of mushroom soup so i used cream of potato. i also added a few cups of frozen roasted potatoes during the last hour of cooking. this was such a nice meal to come home from work to. my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
The name is a little misleading. This really comes out more as a stroganoff than a stew. I double all but the "dry French Onion Soup Mix" and meat. Otherwise, the meat is overwhelming and there isn't enough sauce for your noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I've made this several times this winter and we all enjoyed it. Like others, I added carrots, red potatoes and fresh mushrooms. Smells so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States