No-Peek Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Came out as something between stew and soup, but tastes good and ridiculously easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
We liked it and the simplicity of this recipe is its greatest selling point. I really liked the flavor the red wine added to it. I also thickened it with cornstarch at the end because I thought it was a little too soupy. Next time I may try adding a few seasonings to liven it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Cainta, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
this was good. my family loved it! so easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This is wonderful. I use whole mushrooms instead of canned. I also serve it over egg noodles. Easy to make and my whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
A delicious, super-easy comfort dinner. As a prior poster suggested, I increased quantities of soups and the wine. For 1.25lb of stew beef, I used one full can each of Campbell's French Onion and Cream of Mushroom Soup, and 1 full cup of merlot red wine. Also per another poster's suggestion, I added garlic powder and thyme to taste, and a healthy dash of fresh black pepper. About 2 1/2 hours before I was anticipating it would be finished, I added about 5 quartered baby red potatoes, and a dash of parsley flakes. I served it over wide egg noodles, and with buttered baby carrots on the side. My fiance loved it! He had 2 full helpings, as did I. I found the meat to be quite tender and flaky, and there was plenty enough 'gravy' to counteract any dryness the meat might've had. I personally can't even stand the scent of mushrooms, and was apprehensive about using the soup in this recipe, but it definitely turned out for the best. Thanks Cheryl! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
While the smell of this stew was FANTASTIC, I have to say we were abit disappointed with the overall taste. Bland. I couldnt get over it. Maybe next time I will add more seasonings and try to thicken up the stew to more of a gravy. We served it over rice and this was great, but it just needs more punch and thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Good but rich. We probably won't use it again but I can see where some people would really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I thought that this recipe was quite flavorful!!! My only complaint was that the meat was quite dried out, as soon as I stirred the stew the meat fell appart and was quite flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
Wonderfully easy, tasty basic beef stew. I followed some of my predacessors, by using DryFrench Onion (beef) soup mix, and extra wine. I also mixed in a small amount of water and cornstarch for thickness. Next time I will use yellow onions, carrots, and potatoes and make it a more traditional meal. Great taste, very simple. Thanks Cheryl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Super easy and DELICIOUS! I didn't have any wine (I don't drink) so I substituted three tablespoons of Balsalmic (Sp?) vinegar. Next time I make it, I'm going to add chopped onions and celery. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELAO
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States