No-Peek Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made a few of my own changes to this recipe. I replace the wine with 2 cans of beef broth and add a can of mushrooms, 2 cans of diced potatoes and mixed veggies.(fresh or canned) The changes I made make it more soupy, it's very hearty and it feeds at least 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was still fairly bland, even after I browned the beef and added some salt & pepper and cornstarch to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Great base. I did take some previous review suggestions by browning the meat first, adding two bags of stewing veggies (I'm all about easy), one package of onion soup mix and 4 cups water. It cooked over night through to dinner hour and was a hit! Very good and voted a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINEGOODWIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I will have to make this one again and again. PERFECT! Though next time I may add some sliced onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I am not a red meat type of girl but I absolutely loved this. The meat was very tender. The only thing that could use some changing, if you are the type of person that likes salt, is to add a little yourself. Other than that I wouldnt change anything :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsaranda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
My mother is not well and it is a challenge to prepare something she will eat. Her favourite dish is beef stew. I did this recipe this weekend and she loved it. I did not use wine as she is diabetic, but did use the same amount as beef broth. I used onion soup instead of French onion as our grocery stores don't carry it. I put the vegetables in about 3 hours before it was done. Also I used instant mashed potato flakes at the end to thicken it a bit. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This makes very delicious stew. I didn't have French Onion Soup on hand, so I substituted broth for it. I also used condensed celery soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Really good, super easy. I had fresh mushrooms instead of canned, put 1cup of sour cream in the slow cooker just before serving over wide egg noodles. Will definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Used a bag of steamfresh garlic peas and onions. superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was...pretty good. I'll admit that I didn't use wine (never do)...used beef stock. I doubled the liquids because I also added celery, Yukon Gold potatoes, and carrots. I was expecting a little more flavor from the soups. It was actually quite a mellow flavor...which wasn't really what I was wanting. It was pretty good...just not what I was expecting. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States