No-Peek Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This was so easy. I liked it because I didn't have to brown the meat first. I will use fresh mushrooms next time though. Very tasty over rice. Even my three boys liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is the absolute best way to make beef stew! I don't ever keep condensed soups, so I made my own by cooking 2 TB of butter with 6 TB flour and then whisking in one cup each of milk and chicken stock. I also added a bay leaf, one onion, and 2 cloves of garlic, and worcestershire sauce. I had to leave out the red wine b/c I didn't have it, but I just added some stock to replace the liquid. I added carrots during the last 2 hours and peas the last 30 minutes. The best beef stew I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was the first time I made a beef stew. This recipe was a great base but I did try to make this like my grandpa used to. I omitted the red wine and added baby carrots, peas and red potatoes. I left this in the slow cooker for about 7 hours. It was tasty, not quite how grandpa used to make but I'm sure he would be proud. Serve with garlic bread or french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sself
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and even so, this was very bland to me. I served over egg noodles & even my guest said "it's not awful but it's not good." We added lots of cracked black pepper & sour cream after our initial taste to try to doctor it up but I would not make again. Another friend loves this recipe & it is well-rated... it just didn't appeal to my palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Good and easy recipe. Used onion soup mix instead of the French onion soup - caused it to be too salty. Next time will look for reduced sodium soups otherwise a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was really good. I did follow the advice from other reviews and added potatoes and carrots plus seasonings. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
A good starting point....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I have made this recipe only without the wine but instead of slow cooker, bake at 300 for 3 hrs. the gravy is thicker and not so liquid. Also, I sometimes add 8 oz sour cream and I double the cans of soups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcwarrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I give this recipe 4 stars because I used this recipe as a basic start for stew and added some extra steps to get the recipe that suited my household best. After browning the stew meat with onions in a pan, I followed the instructions listed and added peeled, chopped potatoes and carrots. After cooking in the slow cooker, we thickened the stew a little with flour and the end result was exactly the stew we were hoping for. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by San Diego Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States