No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DawnieMac
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
This was quite excellent! I was unable to thoroughly dry out the zucchini even after salting, letting sit and even baking to roast the water out. The zucchini also fell apart and didn't retain a sturdy texture. But veggies are veggies and I didn't need it to look good beneath the oooey gooey cheese so I layered the zucchini anyway as best I could. I'll keep experimenting with zucchini as I'm sure this was my fault. What I modified: I used half Morningstar Farms Meatless Crumbles and half turkey sweet Italian sausage in lieu of the ground beef. Added about 3 cloves minced garlic and used fresh spinach instead of frozen. Added a tspn of basil pesto to the ricotta mixture and used a jarred sauce with a little extra tomato paste to beef up the tomato flavor. Finally I used fat free mozzarella cheese on the first (bottom) cheese layer. I did this because it doesn't melt very well and I felt it would give the lasagna (due to my zucchini fail) the texture it needed and I was right as it helped bind it. The end result was an absolutely delicious, albeit slightly moist lasagna. My friends said it was one of the best lasagnas they ever had. Agreed: this recipe takes quite some time to prepare, but I think repetition will help with the efficiency! Thanks for the recipe and introducing me to zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I made this with a few modifications. I did not add red wine, because I did not have any, and I used ground turkey instead of beef. I spiced the turkey with crushed red pepper in the sauce, to counter act the sweetness of the turkey. It was absolutely delicious. My family was skeptical before they tried it, but it was all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atrivedi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Great! I followed others advice and cooked the zucchini before hand. I added a layer of broccoli slaw after the spinach. I didn't add cheese at all because we try to stay away from dairy. I also added garlic and some red pepper flakes to the sauce because we like things a bit spicy. I also used turkey instead of beef. Because it doesn't have cheese, it is not much like a lasagna. However, it is a winner and we really liked it! Healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
LOVE THIS - my family loved it - I even served it to guests, and they loved it. I was nervous about it being watery - so here's what I did: 1. I placed the zucchini with salt on paper towels, let them rest, wiped them well! 2. Sauteed the pepper, mushrooms with a bit of olive oil, then added the drained and squeezed frozen spinach - this made them quite dry. Set aside 3. Whole milk Ricotta with one egg. Set aside 4. Saute onion and garlic - add meat to brown then add paste and sauce - I did NOT add water. 5. Assemble - bake for 30 minutes Let STAND for at least 10 minutes! It was nice and solid and DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer reyes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by betsy
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Great base recipe. I used the suggestion to bake the cut zucchini for 10min at 350. I used prepared marinara and 93/7 turkey. I added garlic to the sauce mixture, I added the sauce at the end but didn't cook until hot. I don't like adding hot sauce to cold "noodles" I tore 10-12 fresh basil leaves to each layer. It took a lot longer than 45 minutes to cook, I started at 350 for 45 then 375 without foil for another 15. It wasn't watery at all. Light and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Yum! I didn't even miss the pasta. Do add a couple of chopped garlic cloves when adding the onions and pepper. I used red pepper, not a fan of green pepper. Great dish, will be making it again! ( I did not add any water to sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAmy1033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Had same issue with too much water. I didn't add any to the dish at all. Was delish none the less. Used turkey mince instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Was really good and was even better after a few days in the fridge. I used ground turkey too. I had a half a pan left over so I froze that into individual portions using my seal a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Men of the house loved it, and my dad is hard to convince when something is made with zucchini instead of a white flour carb. I actually made a bagel to go with it, because I'm the one who ended up missing the noodles the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Yes it is very good I like a bit more salt but otherwise it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States