No Name Orange Roughy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
FANTASTIC! We enjoyed this recipe very much! The sauce would be great on just about anything! I had dried rosemary leaves so I used my mortar and pestal to grind them to a fine powder, and it was good that way. Before serving, I removed the fish and added 1T cornstarch (mixed with water) to the sauce to thicken it (it was too soupy) and this turned out nicely! I used a crumbled tomato and basil feta and it just made the dish! Don't leave off the feta cheese! I also added 2t minced garlic to the sauce along with the spices, and was happy with the result! We will definitely be making this one again! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
This was GREAT -- so easy and healthy!! I did add a clove of minced garlic w/ the onion. I would recommend draining the liquid from the tomatoes and reserving it, just in case you need it. I used fresh basil from my garden and this was a hit w/ my family !!! Thanks Christopher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
This is one great recipe! I prepared it for my family last night using a sauvignon blanc wine. After removing the fish from the simmering liquid I ladled out a little over a cup of it and added it to one cup of couscous, let it sit for about five minutes, then fluffed it with a fork. I served the fish over the couscous for a delicious meal! I also prepared "Broccoli, Corn, and Green Bean Saute" from this site. Thank you for this recipe that I will fix again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Very good. Next time I will try the previous reviewers suggestion and add a little garlic and used fresh herbs. I did use the juice from the tomatoes and almost had to add water because all of the liquid was evaporating (I only made 1 filet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Yet another review of 5 stars. Perfect combo for Orange Roughy. As other reviewers have said, the cheese makes this dish! And as other reviewers said, let the liquid reduce a bit before adding the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was really good and easy to make. I added garlic along with the green onion to the olive oil. Also, like another reviewer suggested, allow the wine and tomato mixture to reduce by about 2/3 before adding the fish otherwise it will be very soupy. This was very tasty and light. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
My husband loved it, and he usually doesn't like fish. Serve w/o the feta to lower the fat... it stills tastes great and is super quick & easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Rezentes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This is so great, I had to review it immediately!! I used grouper because taht's what I had and added minced garlic when I was sauteeing the green onions and used chopped tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregeno instead of the whole tomatoes. I used 3/4 cup of the tomato/wine sauce in Uncle Ben's wild rice with butter sauce and served it all with squash. This was the greatest! I actually forgot to add the feta at the end which makes me anxious to try it again with feta soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Great recipe. I added a couple of cloves of fresh garlic with the green onions, then added the wine and tomotoes and allowed the liquid to reduce by half before adding the fish. I only had two fillets so I added some fresh shrimp, amd boy did they come out good. I too substituted the olives for capers and ommitted the feta - only becuase I didn't have any. This really made a great meal. The kids loved it too. Can't wait to make this dish for my next dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I am the rare person who didn't like this recipe... I was skeptical about it to begin with because I had a feeling the flavors would overpower the fish, which is a very delicate tasting one. All of the flavors did turn out, for me, to be too strong. If you don't enjoy the flavor of orange roughy on its own, I would suggest making this and serving it on alongside some nice hot buttered angel hair or other thin pasta. Otherwise, try one of the orange/lemon juice based orange roughy recipes on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States