No-Mayonnaise Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I doubled the amounts of everything except the sour cream and buttermilk (which I didn't have any of so I made it with 1/2 cup milk and 1 tbsp of white vinegar). Best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrinarae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Winooski, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Very, very close to what I was looking for. For us, it needed triple the spices, except the salt and pepper. Very simple and quick to make in a matter of seconds for a woman who's not only cleaning out her fridge and feeling VERY guilty about her food choices for the day. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was a miss for Hubs and me - as in, we missed the slight tang of the mayonnaise! Adding a squeeze of lemon juice was a real improvement, but without it this was flat tasting - essentially lightly seasoned and thinned out sour cream. If not mayo, add a dribble of vinegar or a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Fabulous dressing! It's great to find a buttermilk ranch dressing that doesn't contain mayo! Even though I like mayo this was a really refreshing change especially if you're looking to cut fat and calories. I used low-fat buttermilk and a light sour cream. I upped the dill a bit and used fresh chives instead of dried. I added a bit of sugar to taste and it as perfect for salads and as a veggie dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I am only giving this 4 stars because i lacked 2 of the ingrediants and had to compromise. I didn't have garlic powder used granulated garlic and did not have buttermilk so did the substitution with 2% milk and vinegar. everyone still liked it and i was told to not buy ranch ever again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
wonderful. i've hated salad dressings and mayo all my life. thank you for adding taste to my veggies. Again thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
The best low fat, low calorie ranch dressing recipie that I have ever tried. It is low cal enough that you can use a lot of it on your salad without the guilt. I have started using it as a dip with veggie trays. Folks seem to like it because I don't tell them it is a low fat recipe (you know how that goes). Preparing it ahead of time and then letting it sit in the refrigerator over night gives the flavors time to mix together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladydi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My "go-to" recipe for healthy ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I'm on a special diet that limits sugar and carbs for a short period of time. I'll be eating a lot of salad and COULD NOT find a rand dressing without sugar, sucralose, dextrose, maltodextrin, etc... The buttermilk did have some sugar in it but wasn't as bad as store brands. So I only used 1/4th of a cup and ended up with a creamier dressing. I love chives so I doubled up on those and added a bit more onion powder. I love bold flavors. I tried it when first made on some cucumber slices. My sister, who loathes ranch tried it and literally licked the bowl (she's 20 years old) so that says something amazing about this dressing. I also made some great buffalo wings and this was amazing! Even better after sitting in the fridge for awhile. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making it weekly, even after this diet is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktau91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for! Even with full-fat sour cream the calorie count is very low for a salad dressing. I did not have the dried chives, I will get some and try it again. Also IMO is needs more salt. I thought 1/8 t seemed a bit low, but I left it since I like to make things the way it is written the first time I make it to have a reference point to go by in the future. Other than the salt issue (easily fixed) the flavor is very good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Him

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Summersville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mountain View, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States