No-Mayonnaise Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I was disappointed that this did not turn out for me. I made this last night and let it sit overnight to marinate. this morning, it tasted bland so I added a little lemon juice, later on, still bland and missing something ( suspected it was the missing mayonnaise) so I added a pinch or so of white sugar and let it sit some more. It still did not really have that tang, zing or overall taste of ranch. however, I could taste all the fresh herbs and buttermilk was noticeable. This type of dressing may work for some people, as for myself, it just didn't do it for me this time. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Great tasting ranch dressing! So easy to make! Only tweaks made was adding extra of the seasonings, to suit our personal preference. I always feel better about serving homemade dressings rather than store bought varieties that contain HFC, preservatives, artificial color & flavors, and ingredients I can't pronounce. We have used this on salad, as a dip and along side wings. Thank you for posting a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I doubled the amounts of everything except the sour cream and buttermilk (which I didn't have any of so I made it with 1/2 cup milk and 1 tbsp of white vinegar). Best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrinarae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Winooski, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Very, very close to what I was looking for. For us, it needed triple the spices, except the salt and pepper. Very simple and quick to make in a matter of seconds for a woman who's not only cleaning out her fridge and feeling VERY guilty about her food choices for the day. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was a miss for Hubs and me - as in, we missed the slight tang of the mayonnaise! Adding a squeeze of lemon juice was a real improvement, but without it this was flat tasting - essentially lightly seasoned and thinned out sour cream. If not mayo, add a dribble of vinegar or a squeeze of fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Fabulous dressing! It's great to find a buttermilk ranch dressing that doesn't contain mayo! Even though I like mayo this was a really refreshing change especially if you're looking to cut fat and calories. I used low-fat buttermilk and a light sour cream. I upped the dill a bit and used fresh chives instead of dried. I added a bit of sugar to taste and it as perfect for salads and as a veggie dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I am only giving this 4 stars because i lacked 2 of the ingrediants and had to compromise. I didn't have garlic powder used granulated garlic and did not have buttermilk so did the substitution with 2% milk and vinegar. everyone still liked it and i was told to not buy ranch ever again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
wonderful. i've hated salad dressings and mayo all my life. thank you for adding taste to my veggies. Again thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
The best low fat, low calorie ranch dressing recipie that I have ever tried. It is low cal enough that you can use a lot of it on your salad without the guilt. I have started using it as a dip with veggie trays. Folks seem to like it because I don't tell them it is a low fat recipe (you know how that goes). Preparing it ahead of time and then letting it sit in the refrigerator over night gives the flavors time to mix together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladydi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My "go-to" recipe for healthy ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States