No Knead Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This was really easy to make and creates a really artisan looking bread. The loaf is quite huge too, which I was happy about. The flavor is good, but not as developed as Chef John's pumpkin bread which rises over-night. The crust has a crunch to it and the interior is nice and soft though. I am not sure why, but it makes really good grilled cheeses. Either way, for the beer, in the bread, I used an imported Pilsner style beer, which is a lighter flavored beer. I didn't want the bread to taste like beer and it didn't at all. The bread goes into the oven a little flat, but it does get a nice spring in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was the best bread I've ever tasted! I added some crushed oregano, thyme & basil to dough and wrapped it in rosemary branches while it rose for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This is now my "go to" recipe for homemade white bread. It is super easy and you cannot screw it up. If you have never made bread before, give it a try. You will be surprised by your results! I make the starter in the bowl of my KitchenAid mixer, and let it sit, as stated. Then, using my dough hook attachment, I add the flour and beer and knead for about 3 minutes - until it pulls away from the bowl and looks nice and shiny. Then I let it rise, and after 2 hours or so, punch it down and shape it in my final baking container for the last rise. I use a clay baker with a lid (mason cash cooker), and have found that when I use that, there is no need to put the bowl of water in the oven when I bake it. The clay baker captures the steam and keeps it moist on the inside. I take the lid off for the final 5 minutes to get a super crispy top. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Excellent Bread Shop Quality Bread! Easy bread to make - easy to work with. I just made this bread and it's Wonderful! Crispy crust, soft interior, moist, chewy, & springy. The flavor of the crust is rustic. Tastes exactly like bread you would purchase from a fresh bread store. I placed the yeast, 1/2 cup of flour and water in the bread machine and let rest for a half an hour. Then added the beer, rest of the flour and salt. Started the bread machine on the dough cycle until dough formed a nice looking ball (had to add a little more flour). Placed well mixed ball of dough into a lightly greased bowl and let rise for 2 hours or until doubled. Took dough out and placed on well floured surface and sprinkled flour on top. Formed into loaf (very easy dough to work with) then placed on baking sheet with cornmeal on bottom. Let rise for 40 minutes. Pre heated oven with baking stone on the top and a pan of water on the bottom rack. After 40 minutes, make a split in the loaf and place into oven for the 35 minutes. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious and easy. I did need to add about a half cup more flour to make it not so sticky, and baked only 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mouseketeer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I have made this bread so many times, the recipe is simple and yet looks and tastes like a loaf you would buy at a European bakery. Texture is beautiful, nice and crispy on the outside and inside very soft and chewy. However once the loaf sits out for a day or two it starts to smell like beer so best eaten fresh.Overall this is definitely a keeper thank you for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I've added rosemary and garlic to this recipe and cut out the extra flour on top and my fiance LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
As an avid bread maker I was excited to try this one. Super easy, didn't take a long time like some other breads I have made, and the texture was perfection. I chose Blue Moon belgian white ale because its a beer my husband and I like though we rarely drink so I wanted to be picky. Beautiful, very large artisan loaf with fluffy center and chewy outside. TIPS: Turn oven on lowest temp and then open the oven door a crack allowing it to cool. Place a hot wet but wrung out towel on top and place in your warm oven and let sit for 30 minutes. This will jump start a heavily loaf of springy bread. Do the same thing for the second rise for 2 hours. For the last rising on the pan before you bake it, turn on your oven and sit the cookie sheet on top of your oven covered loosely with a dish towel. This will give you the best results as the heat from the oven will warm the bottom of the pan and warm your dough giving you the best end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Excellent bread!! I went to FoodWishes and there is a recipe beneath Beer Bread that I used also, with scallops. I made the beer bread then I toasted it in the oven then poured the scallop and garlic mixture over the bread. Wow, what an excellent combination. I could have licked the plate. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Reither

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is an easy (and would have been more so if not for the trip to the store for the beer needed here) and good tasting bread from a very reliable contributor to this site. We made this with more than half white-wheat flour, as that was what we have on hand. As instructed, did not place in loaf pan but cooked on baking sheet, and it held it's form well. The end result was a tasty loaf. I love to try this chef's recipes, as they are dependably and consistently scrumptious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States