No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I love this bread, its the best substitute I've tried so far for using a proper bread starter like sourdough. I love the big holes it gets. I pretty much followed the recipe to the letter, except I used a little less salt and placed my dough onto a greased piece of parchment covered with plastic wrap instead of towels (from baking nana's blog). The only issue I had was mine didn't really form a ball, it was too liquid for that so it really slowly splurged out, but that didn't seem to affect the bread in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Better luck next time. My bread was very flat. I tried using it for sandwiches and it was too thin. It also broke in my toaster. Wish the recipe gave the exact measurements of how much extra flour to add. Looks like other reviewers had to adjust this recipe also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This bread is so easy to put together. One of the easiest loaves I've made. Great crusty exterior!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Found out about this intriguing method of baking bread through Baking Nana's blog (thanks.) I made this twice; the first time I had trouble with shaping my dough into a ball, as others did. I think I probably used a bit too much flour trying to get it round (fore it was just a blob when starting.) Turned out a good loaf, but not what I knew it should be. The second time; I only added 1 1/3 cups + 2 tb. warm water. I read somewhere (I think Martha Stewart) that humidity can play a part in a bread like this. This time things went much better. I preheated my small enamel pot and when ready to bake, I sprayed with non-stick spray. Carefully I added my dough. When the last baking was ready, I sprinkled with a bit of flour and smoothed for the final baking to make an incredible bakery look. The insides were perfect and full of holes; just like an expensive loaf should be. I cut the salt the second time to half for us and was just right. Thanks for the recipe. Will certainly make now and then with a these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Delicious bread. I tried a different cooking method for fun and cooked this in the crockpot. Came out nice, but did take quite a bit longer.. was very moist when cooked that way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
A bread recipe with 50% water to flour is an unheard of ratio for bread. With the adoring review of poster AZ93 I just had to try for myself. This turned out a big mess! The mixture is one step above flour water. Why should a recipe need this much effort for proper results? I dumped in extra flour at the beginning after reading the posts. The recipe results were hard bread and a burnt up pot. There are better recipes out there that don't require tons of modifications to ingredients or instructions. The loaf is way to small anyhow. European style bread is much easier than the fore thought this recipe entails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
OMG...what a wonderful recipe. So easy to make and absolutely delicious. This bread has a crisp chewy crust...great for olive oil dipping. We loved it so much the next day I had to bake another! If anyone is leary about making bread...please give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Excellent Recipe! Like others have said- it is a VERY soupy dough. I made the dough last night around 7:30 and baked it today at about 4:30. I tried to follow the directions in the recipe and poured the dough out on a floured board to "form" it into a loaf, but it was a runny blob. Soooo- i scooped it up and put it back into a greased bowl and let it sit for another couple hours to rise again. To bake it I used my ceramic dutch oven and i did preheat it. It turned out fantastic! I am excited to make it again and experiment with roasted garlic and maybe even some cubed cheese. GREAT recipe- thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ93
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
WOW!!!!! This bread is absolutely blow your mind delicious. I want to start by saying thanks to Baking Nana for her helpful review and advice on the Buzz. Doubt I would have had the courage to attempt this without her. My biggest concern when making this was how very, very wet the dough was. See the photos I submitted of the process. I see a few people tried to add more flour after the second rise. Don't do it! Trust me it will turn out fine. I added 3.5 cups of flour at the beginning because I was so worried (1 cup was whole wheat flour) and my dough was still soupy. There was no way I could fold it or mold it into a ball. After 36 hours for the first rise (I figured it would give a more yeasty flavor if i let it sit longer and it did, but mostly I left it that long because Baking Nana did. lol) I just used a rubber spatula to kind of slop it onto the parchment paper. I have to confess I was worried. But following the directions exactly this bread came out full of beautiful big holes and is the most delicious bread I have ever had. I do strongly recommend using parchment. Put the dough onto that after first rise, and back into the bowl for the next rise. Then just use the parchment to transfer the dough into the hot casserole dish/Dutch oven. I think you might lose some of that second rise if you try to spoon it from one to the next. I guess I've said enough. Just make this bread, and know you are doing it right! Thanks SO much for posting Jewissa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
WONDERFUL bread! Mine ended up sitting for closer to 36 hours - just because I didn't have time to bake it. I used a silicon spatula to gently scrape the dough onto a well floured silicon mat. Gently floured the top of the dough, it is sticky and gently stretched into a rectangle and then folded in thirds, like a business letter. Then folded again to form a square and used floured hands to gently turn it into a round. I let it rise on the mat, covered with a cotton tea towel for 2 hours. I used a round enamel covered Le Creuset - pre-heated and followed the directions for baking. It had a wonderful crisp chewy crust and a soft tender, holey crumb. It rose beautifully and was just the most perfect golden loaf. Thanks - this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States