No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I just baked it on a pizza stone and it turned out beautifully. Leaving it out for a day or so before baking it really adds a great flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beramanetti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made this exactly like the recipe except to make it into 2 10" baguettes. Just like the breads we make in the bakery, just not the hefty pricetag to go with it. Anyone complaining about the texture is not looking for this type of artisan bread, because it literally was the perfect texture and taste just as it was written. Chewy inside, denser than regular bread, crispy crust. Delicious. Maybe I will try some fresh herbs in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The best bread recipe I've tried in a long time! Excellent texture, just the right amount of yeastiness. I used sea salt and cracked pepper with a bit of dried rosemary and left the entire 24hrs. I cant stop eating it with everything! Olive oil, butter, as sandwiches. I'll be making this weekly.use PLENTY of flour when tuening and again with the towels - I had no problems with stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sim8
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! I don't have a fancy dutch oven but I have a commercial clad 4 liter pot by Lagostina so I used it on this recipe. The only down side is the loaf is a bit flat not as round as I expected. Next time I will reduce the water portion to 1.5 cup and a smaller pot. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This did not work for me at all. Why it says to put in an ungreased pan I do not know. It did not rise at all and stuck to the pan. Unfortunately, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Needs to be baked on a GREASED cookie sheet or casserole dish. Now I have two casserole dishes with stuck-on bread crust. Otherwise, good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I did this with Rosemary, it was fantastic. It will be the only bread recipe that I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I gave this recipe 5 stars, but I have to admit, I haven't made this exact recipe. But, I was just so annoyed at the people who changed things and then gave it a low rating! My recipe is slightly different; 3 cups flour, 1/2 tsp rapid rise yeast, 1 1/2 tsp salt and 1 1/2 cup warm water. Just mix the dry together, add water, stir it up and cover with plastic wrap. Let it set 12 to 24 hours. Then scrape it out of the bowl onto floured parchment paper, with floured hands pat it into a "loaf" shape or round, depending on how you cook it. I've done the dutch oven method, 450 degrees for 30 minutes once the oven is preheated, then 5 to 15 minutes with the cover off. I've also just preheated a pizza stone and moved the dough onto it with a pizza paddle under the parchment. Baked it for 30 minutes with no covering and when I got it out of the oven buttered the hot crust. The dutch oven version is a crunchy artisan type crust. The pizza stone version made a soft crust. Both were delicious! Do NOT add extra flour because you think that a 2 to 1 ratio of flour to water is wrong. It isn't. The long 12-24 hours rising time turns the dough into a sloppy mess. It's SUPPOSED to look like that! If you want a firm sandwich loaf, this isn't the recipe for you. But it's a simple, great bread. The only addition I make is to sometimes add a tablespoon of sugar to the dry ingredients. That suits our taste a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Super easy! This was my first attempt at baking bread and it came out delicious. I don't think I'll be buying store-bought bread for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saute sIut 69

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
It was tough to eat, and took a long time to rise. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States