No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
This recipe for No-Knead Bread is more trouble than it needs to be. First, there's no need to heat water for it. The long rise time makes it totally unnecessary to start with warm water. Tap water is fine straight out of the faucet. (Also, I only use 1-1/2 cups, and find that's plenty.) Second, it's too runny to try to shape it and it serves no purpose anyway, plus there's no need for a second rise. Don't punch it down; instead, handle it as little as possible. The easiest way to get it into the baking pot is to dust a sheet of parchment paper with flour and gently pour/scrape the dough onto the paper, then use the paper to lift the dough and put it into the pre-heated pot, paper and all. (Parchment paper says it's rated to 420 degrees. I've used it in this process at 450 degrees and have had no problems, but I do roughly trim off the corners so there's not a lot of paper hanging out of the pot throughout the cooking process.) Third, I've found that 12-16 hour rise time is plenty, at least during warm weather. In colder weather, I might let it go longer. Try varying flours a little. My favorite combination is 2 cups all-purpose flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup light rye. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
I have made this same recipe for 20+ years now. I also use an 18/10 Stainless steel Dutch oven with lid. Cut a circle of Parchment paper,(using the lid to be exact),then after preheating pan I spray the inside with olive oil, place the paper in bottom, spray again, then place the shaped dough add the lid and bake as directed above. Comes out beautiful every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie De Leon

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ace, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I've been making this bread for some time now...here is what I have found in my experience. I use only 1 to 1 & 1-/4 C. water (otherwise dough is way too sticky and too hard to handle. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 450, preheat the dutch oven for 30 min. (no need to preheat the lid. For ease of placing the dough into the dutch oven, take a piece of parchment and generously flour it and your hands. Place the dough on the floured parchment to form your loaf. Cover lightly with plastic wrap and let rest while the dutch oven is preheating. (There is no need to go through the second 1-2 hour rise) When dutch oven is heated, remove from oven. Gather up the 4 corners of the parchment over the bread dough and lift and place the bread, parchment and all, into the dutch oven. Cover and bake as directed. Turns out gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
This was a very tasty bread but it stuck to the enameled cast iron pot I cooked it in. I recommend oiling the pot. It was too moist too. Don't know what to do about that but reduce the water. I'll try the same recipe but kneed the dough and oil the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taihw
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
This is a good chewy dinner/sandwich bread if you can make it right, but the recipe is tricky and difficult to learn. It took me a few attempts to learn what "sticky and shaggy-looking" was, and I found that the fermentation time really depended on the season. The transfer from the towel to the dish is really clumsy, I'll have to think of a better way of doing that. I also had a bit of trouble with the baking time, but that's probably because I'm using a very small oven. I've added photos of all the stages so you know what to expect when making this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Yummy! Totally worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DB
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Best bread I've ever made! We were use to great bread coming from Northern California. We're now in alabama and the bread is not the same. I've tried all kinds of breads from all kinds of sites and never got there until this recipe. I did follow some of the advice from the reviews. Started the oven at 500 then dropped to 450 after 5 minutes. I also used the parchment paper trick and it worked well. thanks so much for this recipe.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Great high altitude bread (8,500ft)! No adjustments needed. Perfect every time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marghudson
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I've tried this bread-making techniques for months now, love it! My no-failed recipe: 455 grs. all-purpose flour, 1/2 tablespoon sea-salt, 1/2 tablespoon Instant Dry Yeast and 340 grs. lukewarm water. Add a little more water if using bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marghudson
Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I love this recipe. I have made it multiple times already and it always comes out amazing. I switch up herbs to make it taste like a different bread each time. Right now I have dough sitting with mixed in minced garlic. It smells so great. Can't wait to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirka Marlowe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States