No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This turned out lovely. Everyone commented on the sourdough taste. Was easy to do too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is a great way to make bread. The recipe here is exactly like the one I have used in the past but mine used 1 teaspoon of instant yeast. I so not know if the difference is important, but measurements of instant yeast are smaller than active dry yeast. Annie0214
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I became an avid bread maker when I discovered Jim Lahey's recipe. I wanted to post it, but you beat me to it, Jewissa. I'll have to try adding the fresh herbs, though. Great idea! Proud as a peacock, I brought a few slices from my first loaf to work. One of my colleagues, who lived many years in various European countries, picked up a piece and immediately identified it as European peasant bread. After one bite, she said, "I need this recipe." (She hasn't bothered with recipes in years!) BTW, the "heavy-duty casserole dish" should be either cast iron or stoneware. I've read that Le Creuset works fine, as long as you remove the handles, which aren't oven-safe at 450 F. UPDATE: I brought this bread (minus the herbs) to a staff potluck, and it was a great success. There were many recipe requests. Those who've tried it are converts. The only challenges are to find the proper pot and to figure out the timing. I haven't bought bread since I discovered this recipe! 2ND UPDATE: I've found, tweeked, and posted a recipe for a healthier yet delicious whole-wheat multi-grain bread which uses the same method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I made this bread with whole wheat instead of all-purpose flour. The herbs make it special! Instead of putting a towel under and another one over the bread, I used parchment paper on the bottom. That made it easy to stick in my Dutch oven! I'm sure I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by freewill2112
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I also have used this recipe for a couple years with great success. The only diff is I use 1/2 tsp. instant yeast, 1 tsp salt, 1 1/2 cups water. This is more in line with the Sullivan St. bakery recipe. I've included a pic of my version of cranberry walnut bread using this recipe. Simply add cran. and walnuts to flour mixture, then add water. Follow directions as given. I've had luck with a shorter proofing time also....12-15 hrs depending on the season. To make the baguette pictured, I placed the dough on a hot pizza stone and covered it with a loaf pan. Shorter baking time, that's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly. After 24 hours of rising the dough was a perfect texture for forming into a ball. Will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candice
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I love this bread! I use 3 c flour, 1/4 tsp yeast, 1 & 1/4 tsp salt and 1 & 1/2 c water. Otherwise the same method. Always truns out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is fantastic rustic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Whenever I make this bread it disappears like magic! I do the same as another reviewer...1 1/4 t salt and 1/4 t yeast and 1 1/2 cup water. I don't bother with using a towel or anything. As soon as 18 or so hours is up, I dump the dough on a floured board, wait for the dutch oven to get really hot and just dump the dough in there! No matter how it has looked when I put it in the dutch oven, it looks and tastes fantastic when it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I didn't want a round loaf so I simply put the batter like dough on a baking stone. I put my broiler pan on the bottom rack and filled it with water, creating the steam necessary for a crusty bread. The dough was way too wet to form any kind of loaf, but since that was my game plan, I was stuck with a blob of dough on the baking stone. Ugh! HOWEVER... what came out of the oven in 30 minutes was ABSOLUTE heaven! I'm telling you, it's the best bread I've EVER eaten. The crust was pretzel-like - divine. So I will be working with adding more flour or less water to see if I can end up with a dough that holds some kind of shape. I just don't want a round loaf. I'm telling you though, this is the best bread I've ever eaten, so I'm going to be experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States