No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is a great way to make bread. The recipe here is exactly like the one I have used in the past but mine used 1 teaspoon of instant yeast. I so not know if the difference is important, but measurements of instant yeast are smaller than active dry yeast. Annie0214
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I made this bread with whole wheat instead of all-purpose flour. The herbs make it special! Instead of putting a towel under and another one over the bread, I used parchment paper on the bottom. That made it easy to stick in my Dutch oven! I'm sure I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I started this yesterday and am wondering about the water/flour ratio. Mine isn't just "shaggy" looking as it says, it's just plain soup. A very thin soup. There is no way I could fold it into a ball. I've added another 1.5 cups of flour to get it just out of the soupy stage. I'm now curious about how it will bake. No ball making with this. Just pour it into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gipper
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I use 1/2 tsp instant yeast. Mix all ingredients, cover the bowl & set it aside for 12 hours. Flour a surface, scrape the dough out, stretch it out, sprinkle with flour, fold it over itself one way & then the other, put a sheet of parchment paper in a bowl, spray with cooking oil spray & sprinkle with corn meal, place dough into the bowl for the 2nd rise (1-2 hours), & cover with a cotton towel. 1/2 hour before ready to bake, put the pot in the oven and preheat to to 500 degrees. When ready to bake, if you want sesame seeds/grains on the top, spray top with cooking oil and add your seeds/grains & pat down lightly, take the pot out of the oven and remove the lid. (I use several old towels just to protect surfaces when handling extra hot pots, also; you might want to use a pair of long sleeved pot mitts with silicone palms. Lift the parchment paper & dough out of the bowl and place it into the hot pot. Take a scissors and cut the excess parchment paper from around the top of the pot. Put the lid back on the pot and place it into the oven. After the first 5 minutes, lower the oven to 475 degrees & continue to bake for 25 minutes more. After 30 minutes, take out the pot, remove the lid & check the internal temperature. If it reads 200 degrees, & the end of the thermometer is not sticky or gooey, put the uncovered pot back in for 10-15 minutes until browned. Remove pot, use a turner to lift the bread & paper out & place bread on cooling rack. Remove paper when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I've been baking no-knead bread ever since the original recipe came out in the New York Times several years ago, so trust me when I tell you it is not recommended that you remove the baking vessel from the oven after you've just spent 30 minutes heating it. Do NOT remove it from the oven, just pour the dough (batter, really) into the baking vessel and then cover and bake. That way you don't lose the heat you just spent half an hour to achieve to heat the pan. Also, there's no need to shake the dough once it's in the pan, it'll spread by itself while baking. It's really a misnomer to call this a dough, because it really comes out as a batter. I agree with the other reviewer that it's impossible to form it into any kind of a ball 'cause it's just too sticky. And forget the step of placing it on a towel to raise. It's just messy and doesn't achieve anything more than if you just stir it and place it in a bowl and let it rise another 2 hours. That said, I would rate this a 4, only because I think the instructions are not the best way to make this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn32789

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I thought this bread turned out really nice. Next time I will add a little more herbs to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I became an avid bread maker when I discovered Jim Lahey's recipe. I wanted to post it, but you beat me to it, Jewissa. I'll have to try adding the fresh herbs, though. Great idea! Proud as a peacock, I brought a few slices from my first loaf to work. One of my colleagues, who lived many years in various European countries, picked up a piece and immediately identified it as European peasant bread. After one bite, she said, "I need this recipe." (She hasn't bothered with recipes in years!) BTW, the "heavy-duty casserole dish" should be either cast iron or stoneware. I've read that Le Creuset works fine, as long as you remove the handles, which aren't oven-safe at 450 F. UPDATE: I brought this bread (minus the herbs) to a staff potluck, and it was a great success. There were many recipe requests. Those who've tried it are converts. The only challenges are to find the proper pot and to figure out the timing. I haven't bought bread since I discovered this recipe! 2ND UPDATE: I've found, tweeked, and posted a recipe for a healthier yet delicious whole-wheat multi-grain bread which uses the same method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patiana
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Picked the easiest recipe to learn how to bake bread. I used all purpose unbleached flour, reduced the amount of salt, added rosemary and cracked black pepper. I used a regular ceramic baking dish, preheated and dusted with cornmeal. It turned out really nice for first time bread baking, and it was a hit with the boys. I'm looking forward to not buying bread ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
gooey and just did not rise at all. stuck to the dutch oven. takes overnight with unsatisfying results. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States