No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Wow- is all I can say! This is so good- chewy inside and crusty outside-and SO easy to make! I personally found out I do NOT like the taste of Rosemary- I don't put that in anymore- but I DO like Basil, Oregano and Garlic :) I have seen that people think it's too sticky and try to add flour- DON'T!!! Just trust that it will come out perfect even if you have to pour/roll it into the baking pan. Ok. I tried adding cinnamon and sugar- not so good- but any of the savory herbs- absolutely delicious!!My whole family loved it! This is better than any bread machine recipe out there and much more delicious!!! Also the best outcome is to use a cast iron skillet, that I have found, or baked on a pizza stone. Tried it in casserole dishes and it didn't come out as well. I took it to work for a potluck and it was gone in no time with co-workers saying it tasted exactly like the bread a pricey Italian restaurant in our area serves. Great also for dipping into meat lovers spaghetti sauce from this site! Also great to make gourmet style grilled cheese sandwiches! It's absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I made this bread and it came out wonderful! I didn't put the herbs in it, but I will try that in the future. I made this bread to bring to a pot-latch at church, and I received compliment after compliment from women that know how to cook and bake very well!! I even impressed myself. It came out just like the artisan breads I buy from the bakery. I cooked it in a cast iron dutch oven and the crust was crispy and had a nice hearty crunch to it, so tasty too! My husband liked it as well, so I will definitely bake this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akwebgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Love this recipe with all the herbs. I added minced garlic to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Wow. I used fresh herbs from my garden and my family descended like locusts. I served it with a hearty beef stew (I am feeling fall in the air.) Here's a leftover idea: chop the leftover bread into 1" squares, toss with extra virgin olive oil and toast in a skillet over medium heat. Sprinkle with kosher salt and use as the BEST croutons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Nice chewy bread... quite simple... would be versatile as to what seasonings you wish at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I, too, have been making this bread for several years & it is WONDERFUL!! It also makes great pizza dough... I just decrease the water to 1 1/3 cups & flatten the ball out in the pizza pan & let it rise for about 1/2 to 1 hour. Also makes great ciabatta bread! Just 1/2 the dough, stretch each out into long, thin, flat loaves, let rise on a large piece of parchment paper, then make deep dimples all over the top just before putting in the oven. No need to cover them during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Delicious and easy bread! Coleman makes parchment dutch oven liners! look for them in the camping department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I have been making this bread since Jim Lahey/Mark Bittman's recipe was published in the NY Times. It is fantastic! I also successfully make the fast version using warm water, a little more yeast, & a touch of red wine vinegar. So good that I usually make a triple batch & have some to give away or freeze. Always works, always impresses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I have been making this bread for about 2 years and it's wonderful. What I do differently now is let the dough rise for the 2nd time in the pyrex bowl or heavy pot I'm going to bake it in. I seemed to burn myself alot trying to put the dough into the preheated pot. I also don't put a lid on it and it comes out with a great crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I've been making this kind of artisan bread ever since I saw the NYT recipe from Jim Lahey's Sullivan Street Bakery. The main difference between this one and the original recipe is the increase from 1/4 tsp. yeast to 1 full tsp and the amount of salt seems a bit "much". I wouldn't think you'd need such a long rise with the extra yeast. Saw a cooking blog and a 4 1/2 year old child made this bread. Cute as heck! Took a loaf to a party and people loved it.......said it was like European styled breads. Figuring out the timing is the most challenging part of making it.....especially if you have to go out to a job! Try to find yeast made for Bread Machines. Using parchment paper in the bottom of the dutch oven makes handling the dough much easier.......it's like a sling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States