No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I use only ¼ t. yeast and 1 t. salt. But what I want to say is that this can be baked another way, and also that It can be stored in the refrigerator and used in stages. I didn't have the right kind of pot to use for it when I first tried it, so I baked it on a pizza stone, and I never looked back. It bakes in 20-25 minutes on the stone and it's great. I have also found that you can keep the dough in the refrigerator and cut off a hunk of it and bake it days later, and it is still great. So if you can't use up a whole loaf right away, you can bake small loaves instead over several days. I finally bought a pot to just dedicate to making the bread the way the recipe says, but I went back to using the stone because it seems easier than getting the dough in that very hot pot and then baking it so long, first covered, then uncovered, etc. I admit It's a little awkward to get the dough onto the baking stone - it is very wet and sticky. I put a lot of cornmeal on the peel, let the dough rise for the second time on the peel itself and take a dough scraper to make sure it is not sticking before I shove it onto the stone. It's quick and stunningly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jinjin
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I did exactly the recipe says. Turned out perfect! Let it stand in the room temperature for 18 hours, risen more than doubled. Love the smell of herbs while it baking, taste very good! The wet dough doesn't bother me since i make my pizza dough exactly the same way(texture of wetness) except i put 1/2 cup oil in the dough. Make sure your yeast is alive. A few weeks ago I went to my friend's house make some dough for baking, turned out her yeast was not alive after waiting for over 2 hours! I went to store bough new package of yeast dough risen within 90 minutes in the oven! Lesson leaned! Pre-proof your yeast all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jinjin
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe for the last three days trying to perfect it for our taste.Although it is a simple recipe supposedly, I think the amount of flour added after the initial set time is critical.I think it's a touchy feeling thing as my first loaf came out just fine although to dark so I cut the the time back to 12 minutes for browning. I cooked in in my clay pampered chef chicken cooker. Perfect for holding the moisture in. The second loaf I added garlic and herbs and cooked it in my iron skillet with a tin pie pan on top, I also used a little less flour. It cooked perfectly and came out of the pan perfectly. Just when I thought I had mastered this recipe, I baked my third loaf again trying to use what I thought was the best pan for sealing in the moisture. (clay pot)I used less flour and more or less poured it in the pot. Well it came out more like fachacia bread. very tasty, but not sandwich quality.I back to the drawing board.I needed more flour and I'm sure I'll get it eventually:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I just baked it on a pizza stone and it turned out beautifully. Leaving it out for a day or so before baking it really adds a great flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beramanetti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made this exactly like the recipe except to make it into 2 10" baguettes. Just like the breads we make in the bakery, just not the hefty pricetag to go with it. Anyone complaining about the texture is not looking for this type of artisan bread, because it literally was the perfect texture and taste just as it was written. Chewy inside, denser than regular bread, crispy crust. Delicious. Maybe I will try some fresh herbs in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The best bread recipe I've tried in a long time! Excellent texture, just the right amount of yeastiness. I used sea salt and cracked pepper with a bit of dried rosemary and left the entire 24hrs. I cant stop eating it with everything! Olive oil, butter, as sandwiches. I'll be making this weekly.use PLENTY of flour when tuening and again with the towels - I had no problems with stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sim8
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! I don't have a fancy dutch oven but I have a commercial clad 4 liter pot by Lagostina so I used it on this recipe. The only down side is the loaf is a bit flat not as round as I expected. Next time I will reduce the water portion to 1.5 cup and a smaller pot. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This did not work for me at all. Why it says to put in an ungreased pan I do not know. It did not rise at all and stuck to the pan. Unfortunately, I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Needs to be baked on a GREASED cookie sheet or casserole dish. Now I have two casserole dishes with stuck-on bread crust. Otherwise, good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I did this with Rosemary, it was fantastic. It will be the only bread recipe that I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States