No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
So delish! Lots of air bubbles. Great flavor. I already started it again for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I agree with the reviewers who say NOT to take the pan out of the oven, but just to pour the bread into the pan. If you don't have the right pan--and you need one with a thick surface to prevent the bottom from burning, you can pour the roughly shaped dough onto a preheated pizza stone, and invert a large pot over the top. Still get the amazing crust, and the minimal handling keeps the awesome texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I have been making no-knead bread 3 times a week for over a year - love it! I always thought that getting the dough from a towel into the pot a really clunky process, so I started using baking parchment and got myself a La Cloche. I rip off a piece of parchment a bit bigger than the bottom of the La Cloche, sprinkle it with flour or semolina and place the formed dough on it. Cover with a tea towel and allow it to rise while the La Cloche is preheating. What is great about this is that when the dough is ready to bake you can just lift the parchment and set it into the bottom of the La Cloche and put the lid on it. The parchment will stick out, but it does not affect the baking process at all. Sometimes the risen dough is so slack that I have to slide a pizza peel under the parchment to lift and transfer the loaf to the pot, but it works great, beautiful, high loaves of bread, no flipping or mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
super tasty and really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Made twice now following other hints that said to skip the towel steps and just stir in bowl then poured into the pan when ready. Both times I used dried spices as I did not have fresh and I used 1/2 white all-purpose flour and 1/2 whole wheat. The first time I increased the yeast by about 1/2 a teaspoon, the second time I didn't - I thought the addition of the extra yeast made rise a little higher and will do it this way from now on when using 1/2 whole wheat. I also put my clay baker in the oven when I turned on the stove so that it heated as the oven did instead of wasting time getting oven to heat and then spending 20 minutes heating the pan. Once the lid was removed mine only needed about 10 minutes to finish baking but I think there are other factors that can affect this (altitude, true oven temperature)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this exactly as directed. The loaf looks beautiful-but is way too salty! I will definitely make this again, but I will cut the salt back by half. Can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Phenomenal! I'll definitely create this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hortonville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Absolutely wonderful!!! I made this exactly to the recipie using 1 teaspoon of fresh rosemary chopped fine. I cooked it in a 3 qt. enameled cast iron Dutch oven, the bread just rolled out of the pan when it was done baking without any sticking whatsoever. It had a great crust and a chewy inside and the rosemary flavor was just right. I will make this from now on instead of plain ordinary french bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parshall, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I didn't want a round loaf so I simply put the batter like dough on a baking stone. I put my broiler pan on the bottom rack and filled it with water, creating the steam necessary for a crusty bread. The dough was way too wet to form any kind of loaf, but since that was my game plan, I was stuck with a blob of dough on the baking stone. Ugh! HOWEVER... what came out of the oven in 30 minutes was ABSOLUTE heaven! I'm telling you, it's the best bread I've EVER eaten. The crust was pretzel-like - divine. So I will be working with adding more flour or less water to see if I can end up with a dough that holds some kind of shape. I just don't want a round loaf. I'm telling you though, this is the best bread I've ever eaten, so I'm going to be experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Whenever I make this bread it disappears like magic! I do the same as another reviewer...1 1/4 t salt and 1/4 t yeast and 1 1/2 cup water. I don't bother with using a towel or anything. As soon as 18 or so hours is up, I dump the dough on a floured board, wait for the dutch oven to get really hot and just dump the dough in there! No matter how it has looked when I put it in the dutch oven, it looks and tastes fantastic when it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States