No-Knead Artisan Style Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This will be my go to, bread recipe from now on...delicious, the crust is phenomenal, the inside tender....wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Wilson Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crab Orchard, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I've tried this recipe,Jim Lahey's recipe, the recipe from Le Creuset and a similar recipe on breadtopia's website. None of them worked well for me. While the bread was tasty, it always came out flatter like a disc. The dough was batter, and was very difficult and messy to work with. Finally I combined certain aspects of all the recipes. I basically just upped the amount of flour to 4 cups and added in more water as needed. I found that if the dough looked a little dry when I first mixed it, it rose beautifully, was easier to handle, and the result was a beautiful round loaf of bread that my son begs me to make his sandwiches with, and, between my husband and son, I'm making multiple loaves/week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Was looking for recipe for Pugliese bread. Made this last week just as directed. Perfect! Used my Lodge 6-quart enamel cast iron Dutch oven. So surprised it didn't stick. Going to make another loaf this week. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Buchanan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
LOVELOVE this bread. I don't buy loaves at the store after making this recipe because we simply do not eat them. It was very easy to make, and completely customizable as it lends itself to many spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicha Stenberg-Johnson
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
First attempt at making bread ever! I used bread versus all-purpose flour. In honor of my grandmother, I rubbed a stick of butter over the entire loaf of bread as soon as it came out of the oven. This made the crust FANTABULOUS! Half the loaf is gone already; I danced I was so excited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Truly a great bread. I like it with the extra salt. So good - it reminds me of the great breads of Europe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Best bread recipe I've made to date
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Hot out of the oven WOWWOW...... Delishhhhh Followed recipe as is I used a Corning ware casserole dish and my loaf slid out crispy outside airy inside What can I say a wonderfull bread Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I have made this recipe many times, and once you get the hang of how the dough should look and feel when you're mixing it, it becomes a really reliable recipe. Here are a few tips I've learned: 1. The brand of flour that you use REALLY makes a difference. Spend some more money on a good flour, and it makes all the difference between a flat shapeless thing and a round plump loaf. I suspect that many of the bad reviews are due to using cheap flour, which just doesn't bind and hold it's shape as well. 2. Instead of flouring everything, I learned that buttering a clean bowl and letting your dough rise in that overnight allows it to release from the bowl without popping the bubbles (olive oil won't work, I tried). I drop it out onto parchment paper, let it rest 30 minutes while my pot preheats then put the parchment paper and all in my preheated pot. Super easy. 3. Also, you can use this recipe for pizza crust. Mix it up as normal, then stretch it out onto a buttered pizza pan (not stone) right away, no rise time in the bowl. Brush with olive oil so it doesn't dry out, and let it rise for a few hours. Top with whatever you want and then bake near the bottom of the oven at 450 for 12-20 minutes. Yum! If you like a crispy bottom, prevalent the crust for about 7-10 minutes before adding the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I use only ¼ t. yeast and 1 t. salt. But what I want to say is that this can be baked another way, and also that It can be stored in the refrigerator and used in stages. I didn't have the right kind of pot to use for it when I first tried it, so I baked it on a pizza stone, and I never looked back. It bakes in 20-25 minutes on the stone and it's great. I have also found that you can keep the dough in the refrigerator and cut off a hunk of it and bake it days later, and it is still great. So if you can't use up a whole loaf right away, you can bake small loaves instead over several days. I finally bought a pot to just dedicate to making the bread the way the recipe says, but I went back to using the stone because it seems easier than getting the dough in that very hot pot and then baking it so long, first covered, then uncovered, etc. I admit It's a little awkward to get the dough onto the baking stone - it is very wet and sticky. I put a lot of cornmeal on the peel, let the dough rise for the second time on the peel itself and take a dough scraper to make sure it is not sticking before I shove it onto the stone. It's quick and stunningly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States