No Fuss Shredded Beef Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is pretty darn yummy. There is quite a bit of liquid but I think its necessary to keep the beef moist. You can toss the liquid or use it for something else like gravy. The only changes I would make is to use a couple beef bouillon cubes or some additional sea salt. The beef had a fantastic flavor, was super tender and made perfect tacos. I would actually give this four and a half stars. The only other suggestion would be to use maybe one can of diced tomatoes with habanero for an extra spicy kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
OMG this was soooo good meat fell apart!! definitely going into the meal rotation!! I served the shredded beef in flour tortilla (burrito), with mexican cheese,sour cream and a home made green salsa first day, next time served on a baked tostada, refried beans first topped with the meat and sour cream,mexican cheese!! yummmyy!!!! delicious!! It almost reminded me of Birria (Mexican Dish) this is coming from a Mexican Cook, Thank you rknotthere!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyevans17
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I used this recipe on Thursday and we loved it. I did do just two tweaks to the recipe due to what I read from others. I strained the second can of tomatoes to try and keep the amount of liquid down. I also added to habaneros to the pot. After 8 hours, most of the heat from habaneros is lost, so it was not too spicy. We will definitely be making this again. This is the best shredded beef recipe we have used to date. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This is a really good recipe. Taste vary so I followed the directions as stated and then altered to suit my taste. I did a taste test when the meat was done, and concluded it needed more of something. I added another tsp. of chili powder, another tsp. of cumin. It made a lot of liquid which I strained from the meat and reduced to half by boiling for several minutes. Did another taste test and realized it needed some sugar. I added 2 Tbsp. of sugar (to offset the acidic flavor) and another tsp. of salt. Then I thickened the liquid with some corn starch (make sure your liquid is boiling and use about a Tbsp. of cornstarch and 4 Tbsp.or so of cold water, mix well and add to boiling liquid. Then I added the nice thickened reduction sauce to the meat and mixed it together really well. I made quesadilla's with a Mexican blend cheese, topped it off with some hot queso cheese dip (We like Gordo brand), homemade salsa and homemade guacamole, and sour cream and voila! It was a OMG make this again from my family. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Cooked the meat about 9 hours and it just fell apart... so moist and tender. I did not add the beef broth, to cut back on liquid. It definitely makes a LOT of 'juice' as it's cooking. I decided to ladle out the juice at about 8 hours and strain and simmer on the stovetop to get an enchilada sauce. I wrapped the beef, shredded cheddar and fresh cilantro in corn tortillas and placed in baking dish, topped with the sauce and ended up with pretty good beef enchiladas! I still have 1/2 the meat left (we are only a family of 4 and this was 2-3 meals of meat for us)... will make shredded beef tacos with the rest in a day or two. Or, might dice it up and make a "Chili Colorado".. that would be fast and easy with this meat! In any case, this recipe opens possibilities for all types of meals. I also added smoked paprika to mine and left the jalapenos out, was a nice flavor for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
My 2 boys (husband and 14 yr old son) loved this recipe. I have to say, I found it pretty tasty myself. I made it close to the recipe. I used a can of rotelle instead of tomatoes and at the end threw in a can of low sodium black beans, because thats just the way we roll. I added a little fresh cilantro and squeezed in a bit of lime. I made some guacamole and we added shredded cheese and chopped onions with soft shell tortillas. We all loved the shredded beef instead of the traditional ground beef. I will certainly make this again. Yes, it was pretty brothy, but I used a slotted spoon so really, no big deal. :) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Fantastic, but I added 2 tbsp of fresh squeezed lime juice and some chopped cilantro. The juice can also be drained off afterwards and the meat fried for again, a different meal served with shredded cabbage, homemade mayo ketchup, served on fried tortillas - just like we used to eat when I lived in Costa Rica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
It inspired me. Bravo for the coffee idea. I'd have never come up with that on my own. Just threw a cross rib roast in the crockpot, onions and red and green bells, a jar of salsa, garlic, salt, pepper and a little cinnamon. Added water. Cooked on a high for two hours then turned to low and went to bed. Outrageous! The coffee made the liquid amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Aiken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I love this recipe and my slow cooker. I have found the slow cooker to be a great way to roast meets. Especially with beef, I have found out too much liquid added during cooking can actually dry out the meat. So, left in all the goodness and left out all the liquid...turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
sounds awesome am going to make it to take to my Son and his Mexican girlfriend in Boston see what she thinks. I know my hubby will live it. Annie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage Tacos

Put a simple smoked-sausage twist on taco night.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States