No Fuss Fruit Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
You couldn't get easier than this! This recipe is so simple, quick to prepare and is always a success! I have also used blueberry pie filling. I sprinkled the top with cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is actually more like a pastry than a pie, and is very easy. I made this for my family and they acted like they had died and gone to heaven. Not a crumb was left. I used cherry filling. Next time I think I will use blueberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Never written a review before so forgive my rambling thoughts. I love to the read reviews when I use this site because I get great ideas from experienced cooks. Took this to work today and it was gobbled up. Recieved lots on positive comments. I had never used Puff Pastry Sheets before and was surprised how easy this was to make. Took about 5 minutes prep time before it was ready for the oven. I sprinkled about 1/2 of a can of almond paste on the bottom layer before topping with cherry pie filling because I like almond/cherry combination. I brushed the top layer with egg wash and sprinkled with sugar before baking. I used parchment paper on the baking sheet so it wouldn't stick to the pan. I baked for 30 minutes as directed and it turned out a beautiful golden brown. I always use an inexpensive oven thermometer to check the temperature prior to baking anything. I learned the hard way that a wrong oven temp can ruin your food/plans/day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
So easy and beautiful! I used one pastry sheet and made individual sized pies using some leftover cherry topping for cheesecake. I baked them on a non-stick-foil lined cookie sheet for easy clean up. Watch the cooking time-30 minutes was way too long. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by hartsellem
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I only had small cans of pie filling so I made 2 smaller pies. I used poppyseed filling for one & apricot for the other. I sprinkled with a little sugar after brushing with the egg to give it a sweeter crust. Be careful, it started to brown ~ 20 minutes in, so keep an eye on it - you may want to cover with foil if it starts to brown too much & continue cooking for 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Simply delicious, fast and fun. Make it for my friends and their kids all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I tried this recipe and used frozen blueberries for the filling. To a saucepan I added 2 2/3 cups of frozen blueberries; 2/3 cup of sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon; 1/8 tsp nutmeg; the juice of 1/2 lemon; 1/2 Tbsp butter; and 2 1/2 Tbsp of arrow root. I simmered the mixture for 15 minutes and allowed it to cool. I then continued with the recipe as written. It was really good, and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is an easy recipe, but I wasn't overly impressed. Taste just like the turnovers you buy in the store, except when prepared this way the filling doesn't set up and leaks out once cut. Oh well maybe next time I will try making individual pies and adding some spice...it was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States