No-Fry Spicy Potato Skins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MountainGirl
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very good basic recipe. I sprayed skins instead of dipping in oil. I also cooked at 450 until crispy and then topped with shredded cheeses, cooked bacon and broiled until bubbly. I topped with scallions when I took them out of the oven. The whole family inhaled them. I'll be making them again. LOVE that they were not fried!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MountainGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I cut this recipe by half but I made no changes to the actual recipe. These turned out SO good--we loved these! I served these with bbqgirl's Jalapeno Ranch Salad Dressing (which was a great pairing, by the way) and really just inhaled them. NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
These were really, really good. I made some changes, after they were cooked I turned them over and sprinkled a little Cheddar Cheese and then broiled them. There are only 3 of us(2 are men) and I used 3 potatoes and they were gone in a flash. Thank you-yummmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Good tasting but I could not get them crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Made these last night with an Italian flare. Cooked them first in the microwave, scooped out 3/4 of potatoes (saved that to make potato crochets), coated them with olive oil and sprinked them with grated cheese, oregano, salt and pepper. Baked them in a 400 degrees oven for 15 to 18 minutes and put the broiler on for the last couple of minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I made these for New Year's Eve. Then 3 days later had some from Bennegan's. These are MUCH better. Thank you! I added shredded cheese and crumbled crispy bacon. Also added green onion and served w/ ranch dressing to dip in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
These turned out dry and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I liked this recipe because you don't deep fry them... I cooked my potatoes in the microwave for about 10 minutes rather than oven baking them. Also used an Olive Oil spritzer to oil up my spuds. After cooking them at 400 until they were crispy, I filled them w/ bacon bits & cheese & broiled until the cheese melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I liked these SO much better than deep fried skins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Very good and not fried, so hopefully that was some savings in fat and calories. Of course, I did put cheese and bacon bits (instead of the spices).... Anyway, I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

See how to make crunchy, cheesy, just plain perfect potato skins.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States