No Fry Crab Rangoon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Try to buy fresh wonton wrappers (from an Asian grocer...they are only about $1.49 for a large stack and far superior to the ones at the regular grocer). They make for thinner wrappers - but this recipe is a keeper. Tweak it for whatever you have on hand, and do spray your oil on them to help them crisp. I'm really into potstickers,so I'm used to browning/steaming...but for an app - you do want to bake them - it's better than frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
These turned out perfect! I made a sweet version mixing some brown sugar with cream cheese. After it was finished backing, I sprayed it with butter and sprinkled cinnamon sugar over the top. SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Love the filling but I wound up breaking down and frying them because the texture is so much better....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azrefugee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This recipe turned out good. Sprayed tops with cooking spray to help them brown. Yummy and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
i thought these were wonderful! I have made them twice so far and my roommate cant get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
need to add scallion & to 'crisp' the wontons, sparay lightly with cooking spray right before putting them in the oven; this should help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAR122

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crivitz, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
These were ok, too much garlic in my opinion. And it would be so much better if they were deep fried but trying to keep very low fat so it was ok. I may make these again trying just a pinch of the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
These were good. I haven't had any sort of crab rangoon before. I can see they would be better deep fried since baking them couldn't cook them as evenly. I didn't like how the pinched tops got all crispy and hard, and the bottom/sides were still soft. The filling was delicious! I'd probably serve that with crackers or pita chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These taste very close to the ones available at a local buffet. I thought the onion was a bit overwhelming -- next time I'll cut back to maybe 1 or 2-teaspoons, finely minced. I made two batches -- one with crab, and one without. Either way they tasted good. You MUST squeeze out all the air and seal well, or the filling will leak out. I think if you stuck a pin in the middle of each one before baking, the filling wouldn't leak out. I sprayed with butter flavored cooking spray before baking. They would be awesome if deep fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
These taste great - the filling really does taste like what you could get in a restaurant. While I like the healthier baked option, the texture is very different - didn't even crisp when I sprayed them with cooking spray. Maybe if they were broiled for a few minutes... I added more green onion than called for and included some of the green tops to add more colour. Really tasty overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States