No Fry Crab Rangoon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Fantastic recipe. This recipe would work with salmon, crab, shrimp or anything else. The cream cheese and sour cream combination is perfect for flavor. I read other reviews and people said they didn't come out crispy or they weren't like fried wontons. I disagree! I did NOT spray the cookie sheet and I did NOT add any spray/oil to the wontons before baking. I put mine in the oven for 12 minutes on 400, they were very crispy and delicious! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
The filling was good. I knew it wouldn't be as good as a fried one but I was disappointed that the centers of the wontons didn't crispt up, even after I added a few minutes under the broiler. I will experiment next time using a spray of oil over the wonton before cooking or trying to bake them in mini muffing cups to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this with a gluten free wrapper. The filling totally tasted great. I did add scallions in addition to some chopped onions, a dash of lemon juice, a dash of pepper, and I backed off on some of the garlic. I also used fat free sour cream and fat free cream cheese. This was amazing! Tomorrow I'm going to make it with parmesean cheese and spinach as a crab dip. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
There's a reason these things are fried and now I know why....I even tried to cook these two different ways: folded in a triangle and in a mini muffin tin. I turned up the oven and even sprayed a little Pam on them. They were hard and overly crispy on the ends and yet seemingly undone in the middle. There was no way to salvage these. The filling however is actually very good, but I used real crab vs. imitation and green onion as it's milder in flavor. This is definitely a case where I should have paid attention to the lower ratings.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by wowheart
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
What a great starter! Big hit in my house and it was nice that they were fry free. Will be making them again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wowheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
i dont know WHAT went wrong when i made these but the ends came out super hard and crunchy, my boyfriend said we shouldve buttered the outside before putting them in the oven BUT i would say going to cupcake tin way is MUCH better in the future i am going to be doing it that way. I enjoyed the filling a lot though :) very good just crunchy outside layer was not so nice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marissa_garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
These were delicious! I placed them in muffin trays and cooked them for 10 min at 350 and then broiled for 5 min. It made them nice and crispy. I also folded mine in a wonton style and used light cream cheese and added green onions instead of reg. Mmmm hit at the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was a great recipe. I also checked out other ragoon recipes and found that they also used about 1/2 tsp of soy sauce. This made it not as sweet, but instead had a little more body. I also read that everyone loves them fried rather than baked so I did 1/2 and 1/2. The baked ones were a little chewy, but frying these makes a mess. But I must say, the fried were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I thought the flavor on these was very good. I made them in an attempt to recreate the crab wontons at Pei Wei as my daughter loves them. They are VERY simple to make and they crisped up *fairly* well in the oven...I just know that the texture of the fried ones is so much better. Since this isn't something we'll make frequently, I think I'll try pan frying them in a bit of oil next time...just to see if we can get the texture a little crunchier. I also used green onion instead of regular onion. Served them with a sauce of orange marmalade, chili-garlic sauce and a splash or two of rice wine vinegar...very tasty. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Try to buy fresh wonton wrappers (from an Asian grocer...they are only about $1.49 for a large stack and far superior to the ones at the regular grocer). They make for thinner wrappers - but this recipe is a keeper. Tweak it for whatever you have on hand, and do spray your oil on them to help them crisp. I'm really into potstickers,so I'm used to browning/steaming...but for an app - you do want to bake them - it's better than frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States