No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Anyone who rates this lower than a "4" must have done something wrong! This is so good! I made this for a wedding shower (with icing) and everyone who tried it said it was the best cake they had ever had. I normally don't even like pound cake or yellow cake at all but even I ate some of it. Amazing recipe! The only tip I have is DON'T try to double the recipe and use a stand mixer LoL because it will spill over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I used a little additional lemon and vanilla extract and what really made the difference for my husband (who absolutely loves this cake) was: instead of using flour when preparing the pan, i used confectioners' sugar. i used a small sifter and sifted it right into the greased pan. Gave the cake a delightful crustiness while the rest of the cake was very moist. Take it from my husband who has had a slice of "pounder" for about 30 years now - this cake is TOPS!!! (I've already made it many times!) Thank you so much for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Delicious!! Served with the Balsamic Strawberries from this site on top of the cake. The combination was incredible, but the cake on it's own is dense, moist and flavorable. I only have a 9 1/2 inch bundt pan so left a little bit of batter out. Took out of oven at exactly 60 minutes. Everybody loved it. My skinny 18 year old had five servings. Finally had to stop him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This cake was very tasty and had a wonderful soft moist texture but it was not a pound cake. It did not have the density, crumb or taste of traditional pound cake. If you want pound cake this is not the recipe but if you want something lighter and softer with the look of pound cake this is excellent. It could be the pound cake for people who don't like pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
well..it is almost 2010, and I made this with Butter Pecan cake mix. It is fabulous!!!!!!! I just drizzled some white frosting..just so it looked pretty. Very good recipe...I will make this again with a different flavour...Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
good i did not have any sour cream used vanilla yougart did not have lemon extract i doubled the vanilla and used sour milk made with lemon juice for water turned out good i also poured caramel frosting I on top yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Delicious! The only change I made to the recipe was instead of using lemon extract I used almond, as others had suggested. Though I do not usually like box cake mix, I really liked this recipe. Tasted great warm out of the oven and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is indeed a delicious CAKE but not what Southerns would call a Pound Cake. The only adjustment I made was add a touch bit more of lemon extract and then I followed it with a lemon glaze once the cake was cooled (2 TBSP of melted butter, about a cup and half of powdered sugar, dash of lemon extract, and 3 good squirts of concentrate lemon juice; mix and pour/drizzle over cooled cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I love making easy recipes.This cake is so easy and moist. I recommend making the cake a day before serving because it is so much better the next day. Thanks so much for bringing this recipe to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I am so glad I waited to write this review. When my cake had cooled I had a piece and thought it was very good but not the consistency of pound cake. Surprise, next day it was perfect pound cake. Will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States