No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Have made this twice. Took a suggestion and added more vanilla extract and left out lemon extract. This cake is awesome and sooooo easy! Tastes better then my made-from-scratch recipe that I have used for years. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
**********On a scale of 1-10, I give this a 20!!!! AWESOME, easy and flexible. Needed something in a hurry and wanting to use what I already had, I chose this. I substituted plain yellow cake mix for "butter" flavor and used the zest of 1 small orange instead of lemon extract. Out of the oven, you could easily eat a small loaf, NO PROBLEM! Note: flour and grease pans well as they tend to stick, even after cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This cake is awesome. I made this for Christmas dinner and topped it with strawberry sauce and whipped cream. So good! It was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I am an Executive Pastry chef. I have been looking for a # cake recipe for years to please my customers. This is the one! It is dense and buttery like #cake but yet still soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
May be one of the best cakes Ive ever made...company loved it. Had no lemon extract so instead put in a tbl. orange juice. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Oh my goodness, this cake is gorgeous. I did make a few changes, not because the recipe called for it but just to meet my pantry ingredients. I used a Duncan Hines WHITE cake mix, used 4 oz sour cream and 4 oz of vanilla yogurt. Followed the rest of the recipe exactly and only had to cook for 60 minutes. The result was one light and tasty pound cake. No one would ever guess this started life in a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Five stars! This recipe turned out fantastic. I did make changes, but with using a cake mix, I think most probably will. I used almond extract in place of the lemon since I used milk chocolate cake mix. I used 2/3 buttermilk instead of water and 8 oz of fat free yogurt instead of sour cream. This recipe turned out very chocolately and tangy. VERY good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Just made this and it's pretty good. The only change I made was I substituted lemon juice for the water. This is not a pound cake, it is a dressed up boxed cake. I will make it again, just note for me, in my gas oven, the cooking time was 90 minutes and I could have left it in longer. But it is good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This was a great recipe. I used it a few times as listed then used chocolate cake mix and the most recent time I made it I used gluten free cake mix and coconut flour and all purpose gluten free flour. Which turned out really great. I was very pleased. I as many of you am always very resistant to use mixes but I was impressed and it made gluten free baking so easy! Thanks for you great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is a veiry good place to start if you are new to baking and still want something that has a 'from-scratch' flavor but you do not want the 'from-scratch' hassle. My only complain is that it is a tad bit dry, and you can even see that from the featured picture. Pound cakes should be more dense, and this one has a pretty good crumb to it. I think I would add an extra egg next time and maybe a full cup of liquid or a few Tbsp. of pudding mix. Overall it's a great place to start experimenting. It's very similar to the White Almond Sour Cream Cake that is very popular among cake decorators...combines box mix with scratch ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States