No Fail Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Delicious! The only change I made to the recipe was instead of using lemon extract I used almond, as others had suggested. Though I do not usually like box cake mix, I really liked this recipe. Tasted great warm out of the oven and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is indeed a delicious CAKE but not what Southerns would call a Pound Cake. The only adjustment I made was add a touch bit more of lemon extract and then I followed it with a lemon glaze once the cake was cooled (2 TBSP of melted butter, about a cup and half of powdered sugar, dash of lemon extract, and 3 good squirts of concentrate lemon juice; mix and pour/drizzle over cooled cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I love making easy recipes.This cake is so easy and moist. I recommend making the cake a day before serving because it is so much better the next day. Thanks so much for bringing this recipe to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I am so glad I waited to write this review. When my cake had cooled I had a piece and thought it was very good but not the consistency of pound cake. Surprise, next day it was perfect pound cake. Will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Contrary to naples34102's opinion, in my opinion, I think this was a vast improvement on a plain cake mix (I used BUTTERY yellow). It got rave reviews at a church fellowship; no one guessed it was from a box. I didn't have any lemon extract, so I tried almond. I had just under a teaspoon left in the bottle, but used it anyway. It gave just a hint of something that made it taste DELISH! In my oven, I did only need to bake it about 50-55 minutes. Thanks for a great way to dress up a cake mix! I'm adding lemon extract to my grocery list so I can try it that way next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I admit my general bias against yellow boxed cake mixes, however, every now and then I come across a recipe that really can fool even me. Not so here. No matter that this recipe doctors up a cake mix nearly to the point of its being a scratch cake; it tasted like, well, a yellow cake mix - a dry, yellow cake mix. Better to have skipped the cake mix altogether, since all the rest of the ingredients for a pound cake were there. In addition, the baking instructions state 60-80 minutes - mine was a tad over baked at 55 minutes. As previous reviewers remarked, this has a coarse crumb, and is not nearly as moist as it should have been. My suggestion, if you are a fan of yellow cake mixes to begin with, is to simply bake a yellow cake mix according to package directions, or look for a doctored cake mix recipe that includes sour cream and pudding. Otherwise, skip the cake mix and make a scratch pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
So Simple! I substitued vanilla extract for all lemon extract and added blueberries.I also made cream cheese frosting with lemon...Wonderful and easy treat! Very moist! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Sorry, there was not itme to take pictures. I made this for my husbands birthday as pound cake is his favourite. This recipe did not disappoint. The only change I made was to replace the lemon with almond for a light almond flavour (my husband's prefernce). Would use this recipe again for sure! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamraD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Very nice, a oh so moist. I used a white cake mix.. the eggs make it yellow anyway :) Also used butter flavor extract in place of lemon (didn't have any) So very good and doesn't even need frosting. All I did was sprinkle a little powdered sugar for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This cake is dry and very course. DIDN't really like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIEVA56
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States